
![]() |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So I was working on an Aasimar character, and looked at the Incorruptible alternate racial trait. Then when I read the spell that it referred to, the language of the racial ability doesn't appear to match the spell:
Occasionally, aasimars arise with the ability to further ward away evil. Aasimars with this racial trait can cast corruption resistance against evil once per day as a spell-like ability. If an aasimar uses this ability on herself, the duration increases to 1 hour per level. This racial trait replaces the spell-like ability racial trait.
CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, DF
EFFECT
Range touch
Targets creature touched
Duration 10 minutes/level
Saving Throw Fortitude negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
DESCRIPTION
You grant the touched creature limited protection from magical effects that inflict damage based on the target creature's alignment, such as holy smite, order's wrath, a paladin's smite evil attack, or an unholy weapon. Choose one alignment type: chaos, evil, good, or law. The subject takes 5 less points of damage from effects that specifically harm creatures of that alignment. The value of the protection increases to 10 points at 7th level and 15 points at 11th level. The spell protects the recipient's equipment as well.
Corruption resistance protects against spells, spell-like abilities, and special abilities, not physical attacks. Corruption resistance only protects against damage. The subject can still suffer side effects from such attacks. When you use this spell to protect an alignment, it gains the descriptor of that alignment.
(Emphasis Mine)
Corruption Resistance doesn't let you specify protecting from attacks from Evil creatures, it specifically lets you choose an alignment to protect.
Is the intention that if any evil creature uses a spell/spell-like ability/supernatural ability that targets a specific alignment, then the person affected by Incorruptible gains the listed protection as if they were that alignment? Or is it something else?
Or am I just missing something obvious?

DM_Blake |

The Aasimar ability is described with fluff: "Occasionally, aasimars arise with the ability to further ward away evil." that is just the author trying to be descriptive; it is not meant to be taken as a game mechanic but rather just a fluffy description of the effect with the mechanic to be described in the following sentences.
So only use those following sentences: 1/day as a SLA the Aasimar can cast Corruption Resistance with a duration of 1 hour/level. Period. The preceding fluff doesn't change this mechanic.
Use the spell description to figure out what this does: The Aasimar chooses one alignment type and the subject can ignore 5 or more points of damage from the listed kinds of effects that harm that alignment.

![]() |

I'd love to just ignore the fluff. And I can for the first sentence. But the second sentence of Incorruptible states:
"Aasimars with this racial trait can cast corruption resistance against evil once per day as a spell-like ability"
And this statement doesn't jive with the Corruption Resistance spell.
I'm mainly asking, 'cause I play in PFS, and these kinds of things are important. :)

![]() |

Ya, it does seem out of sync... should be good not evil. Looks like someone just got confused. =)
Yeah. Easiest fix would probably just be to remove "against evil" from the ability:
"Aasimars with this racial trait can cast corruption resistance once per day as a spell-like ability."

DM_Blake |

I think the author's goal was to limit the Good aasimar to only using this spell in that fashion (i.e., so the aasimar could not choose any of the four alignment types). I just think the author phrased it backward, much like he were describing a Protection from Alignment spell instead. So I think the original intent was that the aasimar must choose only Good when he uses the ability, protecting the subject from effects that harm Good creatures.

![]() |

I think the author's goal was to limit the Good aasimar to only using this spell in that fashion (i.e., so the aasimar could not choose any of the four alignment types). I just think the author phrased it backward, much like he were describing a Protection from Alignment spell instead. So I think the original intent was that the aasimar must choose only Good when he uses the ability, protecting the subject from effects that harm Good creatures.
Yes. I'd have to agree that's the most likely intent. Just wish it was phrased better.
I guess if it comes up for PFS, I'll just have to settle for what the GM says.