Splash weapon miss rules


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

This came up last night, and I cannot find a definitive ruling.

Quote:

If you miss the target (whether aiming at a creature or a

grid intersection), roll 1d8. This determines the misdirection
of the throw, with 1 falling short (off-target in a straight line
toward the thrower), and 2 through 8 rotating around the
target creature or grid intersection in a clockwise direction.
Then, count a number of squares in the indicated direction
equal to the range increment of the throw.
After you
determine where the weapon landed, it deals splash damage
to all creatures in that square and in all adjacent squares.

One GM says this means count the range of the "Thrown weapon" (so for a flask, 10' usually, for an alchemist with throw anything, 20') and count that far.

Another GM says this means count the number of range increments, and then count that many squares. (for a weapon with range 20, at 10 feet, it misses by 1 square, at 30 feet it misses by 2, etc.)

Anyone got the exact rule somewhere?


You quoted the exact rule. Who would have thought it was subject to interpretation? It's one of those things where you think you know the rule until you read something like this then you go Hmmm, I wonder.

It sounds like the second GM to me. That's they way I've always played it and is seems to make more sense to me.

Grand Lodge

the problem is that all the other range rules (to hit penalty, for example) use language such as "-2 for each full range increment between you and target"


The second interpretation is correct.

Liberty's Edge

I play with the second interpretation.

Liberty's Edge

The text isn't worded well.

I played this as per your First GM for years without thinking about it. I believe this to be closest to the grammar of an odd sentence, and never considered otherwise until recently.

GM 2's interpretation makes more sense when you start looking at examples and considering the angle of dispersal and such.

Grand Lodge

Followup question:

If you interpret the rule with the first version, can you chose to throw an object more "gently" (i.e. with a range increment of say 5) increasing the range penalty to hit, but also decreasing the scatter distance?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Splash weapon miss rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions