
Whale_Cancer |

If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
Are you touching (and therefore unable to use that hand for holding a charge) handwear you have equipped? Such as a gauntlet, glove, or a ring?

DM_Blake |

The answer to your general question is "No, you are not touching the items you wear on your hand".
This can be found in the FAQ Right here.
As for your specific situation, wrapping twine around your hand doesn't necessarily count as wearing a gauntlet, glove, or ring, so I guess this one is up to your GM. I suppose, however, that if he will allow Air Bubble to do what you want, then you could cast it on a simple ring or glove and wear that item (in other words, if he won't allow twine, use something allwed by the FAQ).

![]() |
Bear in mind that magic is not electricity. It doesn't flow blindly... well, it can, but that's just raw magic; when you cast a spell you're compelling that force to obey the rules you, the caster, laid down. "My garments do not block line of effect" is - in legal terms - 'boilerplate' in the 'contract' of the spell: so universal that it's ignored, but always applicable.

Whale_Cancer |

The answer to your general question is "No, you are not touching the items you wear on your hand".
This can be found in the FAQ Right here.
As for your specific situation, wrapping twine around your hand doesn't necessarily count as wearing a gauntlet, glove, or ring, so I guess this one is up to your GM. I suppose, however, that if he will allow Air Bubble to do what you want, then you could cast it on a simple ring or glove and wear that item (in other words, if he won't allow twine, use something allwed by the FAQ).
Thanks for the link! Of course it doesn't cover gloves and rings (non-weapon handwear; as the FAQ is only on glove-like weapons), but it's certainly clear what the RAI is.
I guess my idea of using twine is something of a corner case, but how magic distinguishes (and cares about the distinction) between a worn weapon and a piece of twine is beyond me. I guess it's magic.
Bear in mind that magic is not electricity. It doesn't flow blindly... well, it can, but that's just raw magic; when you cast a spell you're compelling that force to obey the rules you, the caster, laid down. "My garments do not block line of effect" is - in legal terms - 'boilerplate' in the 'contract' of the spell: so universal that it's ignored, but always applicable.
Well, in this situation, it is kind of blind. The rules state that if you touch something - even accidentally - it discharges. I can't choose to not discharge the spell (thus the problem with entering the water with a held charge).

Whale_Cancer |

I'm not sure water will discharge the spell, unless you can cite a source on that. I believe the rules cite that the surface of water does block rays, but that they can be cast from one point to another underwater normally; I'm not aware of anything on how held touch spells react.
Is water a thing? I would think so.
Going underwater would cause you to touch a thing (the water) and thus discharge it. That is my understanding (lol @ aquatic races trying to use touch spells).

![]() |
...Don't think so. After all, air is a 'thing' too. When you set off a touch spell you should immediately freeze/paralyze/enfeeble one of the thousands of skin mites that dwell on your skin... but you don't*.
That's what I meant when I said that spells follow their own rules - spells follow rules, but they aren't the same rules that light or magnetism or electricity use.
*As far as we know.

wraithstrike |

Water is an environment, and should not discharge a spell anymore than than touching air or walking through fire would. The spell is referring to touching objects for the most part. You pick up a pen, and the spell would be discharged.
PS:I don't recommend walking through fire in any event, if it can be avoided. :)

Whale_Cancer |

Hmm, I am still going to have to disagree with you guys (even though your interpretation would have helped my character out quite a few times now!).
Water is a significant 'thing' in the way that things like air or bacteria on your hand are not; it's something that you actually interact with and has an impact on gameplay. I have nothing RAW to back this up, other than my reading of 'anything' and what I assume is developer intent; I don't think this rule is referenced or addressed in any other section.
As for 'anything' meaning objects, I disagree. I assume it would discharge if touching a wall (which is a structure) or some trees (which are features of an environment, as water is a feature of an aquatic environment).
I fully admit the possibility of my interpretation being wrong. Opinions are welcome.

Whale_Cancer |

We're straying an awful lot from the original point, which was why worn equipment doesn't block rays/touches.
I'm certain there are four or five water-debate threads already...
Searches for 'water' and 'holding a charge' as well as for 'water' and 'holding the charge' both bring up only this thread.
Edit: But I'll start a new thread anyway, in the interest of organization.

Whale_Cancer |

Even if you could hold the charge underwater, once you dischage the spell, its stops being magic and starts being electric. In the water. With you. In the water.
Can't think this is going to work out well...
haha, yes. Shocking grasp is just the example I am using as that is what came up in game. It was fairly desperate situation and I wouldn't have minded some splashback damage.