
![]() |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

This post refers to this older post about a dodgy save with the Icy Prison spell, that SKR gave an errata for back in the day, where it was meant to be a reflex save, not a fort save.
My question is, is the same errata meant to apply to the Ice Tomb hex for witches? Is it meant to be a reflex save instead of a fort save?
There's a thread about this in which several people want to know the answer, can we get an official ruling here? Need to know for PFS play.

![]() |

SKR chimed in on this thread to point out that this ability does not affect undead since it targets creatures only, so it looks like the Fort save is intentional.

![]() |

SKR chimed in on this thread to point out that this ability does not affect undead since it targets creatures only, so it looks like the Fort save is intentional.
His reply there is saying it targets only creatures (ie. undead or otherwise) and not objects (as per the undead traits rule relating to fort save effects vs undead).

![]() |

Ssalarn wrote:SKR chimed in on this thread to point out that this ability does not affect undead since it targets creatures only, so it looks like the Fort save is intentional.His reply there is saying it targets only creatures (ie. undead or otherwise) and not objects (as per the undead traits rule relating to fort save effects vs undead).
Right, and that only matters because the spell requires a Fort save... He wouldn't have needed to supply any input at all if it didn't.

![]() |

Avatar-1 wrote:Right, and that only matters because the spell requires a Fort save... He wouldn't have needed to supply any input at all if it didn't.Ssalarn wrote:SKR chimed in on this thread to point out that this ability does not affect undead since it targets creatures only, so it looks like the Fort save is intentional.His reply there is saying it targets only creatures (ie. undead or otherwise) and not objects (as per the undead traits rule relating to fort save effects vs undead).
Yeah, fair enough - but I still think that's a stretch. In that context, he's also replying to MP433 saying the hex's wording says "target".
In the middle of making rulings between the spell and the hex (with the spell/reflex save errata being made a week after the creatures-only comment), it's really not crystal clear (and certainly not considering the fix on the related spell).

meabolex |

Same problem with ear-piercing scream.
Fort save -> targets creature -> doesn't work on undead/constructs.
Edit:
My question is, is the same errata meant to apply to the Ice Tomb hex for witches? Is it meant to be a reflex save instead of a fort save?
The errata for icy prison is in the current prd, and ice tomb still is a fort save.

![]() |

Quote:My question is, is the same errata meant to apply to the Ice Tomb hex for witches? Is it meant to be a reflex save instead of a fort save?The errata for icy prison is in the current prd, and ice tomb still is a fort save.
Correct - this post is to follow up on that errata to determine if Ice Tomb should have been affected by the same fix. I'm after an official ruling on this - there doesn't seem to be a good one that exists yet.