Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Pinning without a grapple?


Rules Questions


Let's say you have a Medium humanoid prone opponent in front of me, standing, and I'd like to pin his arm or his neck into submission or to have him surrender to tell me info using my trident, or any forked weapon, in between the prongs. That would technically be a pin without a grapple.

Can it be done? If so, how?

Pretty sure you saw that think of tactic in fictions already, so I'm just looking for a way to replicate taht in Pathfinder.

Thanks for the help ^^


JiCi wrote:
Let's say you have a Medium humanoid prone opponent in front of me, standing, and ...

If they are prone, they are not standing? I'm confused...

But skip that. If you have a prone opponent you can GRAPPLE in the first round and skin it to say that you are using your trident (but will take a -4 to your check for not having both hands free). The next round, Assuming that you succeed on a second Grapple check (at a +5 if they didn't break the grapple)you can pin them.

Sczarni

What Bltz said basically. There's a lot of things can be done in the fiction which you can't really pull off in-game because of the mechanics. This is one of them. Pinning requires multiple successful grapple checks. With greater grapple you could do it in one round but it would still require grapple checks and would still require the use of your hands.

Now, you could speak to your GM about called shots and if he would allow this tactic to work if you make a called shot to completely miss his throat or arm and pin him to the ground. The downside to this is 1) if you mess up your called shot you just killed your potential prisoner and 2) once you start making called shots your GM starts making called shots. You don't want your GM making called shots...

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Pinning without a grapple? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.