Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Focused Spell and Illusion (Figment) spells


Rules Questions


Could a character use Focused Spell with an Illusion (Figment) spell, for example minor image?

Would the caster be able to choose one of the enemies when casting such a spell to have the heightened save DC?

Focused spell says that the spell "affects or targets more than one creature". It seems that "affects" isn't actually defined. Would the fact that there are multiple creatures who might be required to make a save class as them being "affected"?


i think it should work considering that silent image has a fixed area.

major image however can move outside of that area (within the range of the spell) so i dont think it would work if you moved it outside of that.


A silent image doesn't affect anything. Nor can you choose who it is targeted to (your allies must save to disbelieve as well), so it isn't a targeted spell so it disqualifies for the targeted part as well.

You can react to it but the image itself doesn't affect anything. Just because multiple people are viewing it doesn't mean it's a viable spell candidate for Focused Spell

Also I think the RAI for focused spell is for area effect spells.

You must interact with or study closely the illusion in order to even initiate or attempt a save against the image.

I would say NO it does not.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Focused Spell and Illusion (Figment) spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.