Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Sneak Attack & Concealment


Rules Questions


...so, if you're a Rogue with Improved Precise Shot (Feat), do you still need Sniper's Eye (Rogue Talent) to deal ranged sneak attack damage to a foe with concealment? W/in 30', yadda-yadda, I know. But does Improved Precise Shot obviate the need for Sniper's Eye?

Thanks

Sczarni

I would say no, IPS does not obviate the need for Sniper's Eye. Per RAW, IPS says nothing about allowing precision based damage vs targets with concealment, only that you ignore the miss chance. Conversely Sniper's Eye says nothing about ignoring the miss chance granted by concealment, only that you can deliver your sneak attack damage.

The two work rather well together imo.


Alitan wrote:
does Improved Precise Shot obviate the need for Sniper's Eye?

Improved Precise Shot: "Your ranged attacks ignore the AC bonus granted to targets by anything less than total cover, and the miss chance granted to targets by anything less than total concealment."

You ignore the miss chance, but for all other purposes the concealment is still there.


Oh well. That's what I was thinking, I just was kinda hoping I could free up one or the other for something else. :/

Not that it's a back-breaking burden to have to get 'em both. Just being a greedy player. :)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Sneak Attack & Concealment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.