Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Adding an Armored Kilt to other armors


Rules Questions

51 to 77 of 77 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Taldor

Nothing happens. They exist as either one armor, or you only gain the benefit of one.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
RtrnofdMax wrote:
Nothing happens. They exist as either one armor, or you only gain the benefit of one.

How do you determine which one applies?

Taldor

Like Sean said above, whichever has the greater enhancement.

Wait but what if they aren't enchanted? Even if you could find some benefit in the grey area Sean didn't explicitly explain, you're going to be too low level to do much, so I don't think it's worth belaboring the point.

I think people are willfully ignoring corollaries to try to find a benefit. The best example is amulets. Yes, your neck can bear the weight of more than one chain at a time, but I don't see anyone fighting to say they should get the benefit of both at the same time. Because it's clear that you can have only one benefit per slot. Armored kilts are exactly the same. The either exist solely in your armor slot, or joined with another piece of armor as one single, new type of armor, which takes up your armor slot.

You haven't gained a new slot. You haven't gained a new appendage from which to make funky armor spike attacks. It's just one armor with two options for use.


Except the Armored Kilt explicitly states that when used in conjunction with another armor you add this and that, and the armor changes from this to that; armor that is already that has no benefit gained from it.

SKR also stated that such an exception doesn't apply for effects that have an explicit set amount of gold cost (such as the Energy Resistance feature), meaning that abilities with a set amount of gold cost would stack.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
blackbloodtroll wrote:
What happens if the two armors are made of different material?

You get an electrical current.

In your kilt.

...it's not a pretty sight.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I am not asking about magical abilities.

I am asking about combining two armors of different materials.

I am also asking about combing armors that each have Armor Spikes of different materials.

Taldor

VRMH wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
What happens if the two armors are made of different material?

You get an electrical current.

In your kilt.

...it's not a pretty sight.

You just salvaged a frustrating thread.


If the Armor is made of different materials say an Adamantine Kilt and Mithril Full Plate you take whichever is more prevalent. In this case it would be the benefits of Mithril.

I believe that is the RAW.

So a Full Plate with Armoured Kilt is arguably one of the best mundane Armour Combos using the basic rules. With Piecemeal Armour it would be the "Crusader Plate" I made with an Armoured Kilt.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

If I add a Living Steel Armored Kilt to an Adamantine Breastplate, do I retain the DR, and the ability to damage weapons when attacks.

Would the DR be DR2/- or DR3/-?


I honestly have no clue. Though brings you the question on what DR an Adamantine Breastplate and a plain off the shelf Armoured Kilt would have...

I would say you would benefit from the Adamantine But not the Living Metal. And it would be Heavy Armour DR not Medium.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

So, it's the material of the Armored Kilt, or the other armor's material that takes precedent?


VRMH wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
What happens if the two armors are made of different material?

You get an electrical current.

In your kilt.

...it's not a pretty sight.

Au contraire -- just play a sylph with electricity resistance. Then you have a nice minor defensive buff with no unpleasant side effects.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
So, it's the material of the Armored Kilt, or the other armor's material that takes precedent?

I would say so since the Kilt is just a small Piece when compared to other Armour suits.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Azaelas Fayth wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
So, it's the material of the Armored Kilt, or the other armor's material that takes precedent?
I would say so since the Kilt is just a small Piece when compared to other Armour suits.

What about adding it to things like the Haramaki?


Then I would say the Kilt is the Majority Piece.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

How do you make that decision?


Look at how much of the body they would realistically cover.

A Haramaki is pretty much a Thick belt that goes around your natural waist.

A Kilt covers part of your Chest and you legs down to just past your knees. (If you use the traditional lower class kilt)


The issue boils down to which has the higher value in terms of armors. I do look at it this way:

The Armored Kilt has an "ability" that allows it to attach to other armors, granting its basic bonuses and adjusting the armor category. These other armors include things like the Haramaki, Leather Armor, etc. While the Kilt can be worn in its own right, it otherwise functions as an addition to an armor, meaning the other armor is more prevalent than the Armored Kilt.

Thusly, the Armor that you have equipped (not the Kilt, but the Armor that Kilt is attached to) would grant you its benefits instead of the Kilt, due to the rule that armors can only benefit from the most prevalent of material (i.e. the Armor's material). Since the Kilt is not the more prevalent material type (that is, not used by itself, but as a part of something else), it would be subject to the material of the Armor, not the material of the Kilt.


@Darksol: OK that is an excellent way to simplify it. I guess that isothermal best way to handle it.

And am I the only one thinking a Spiked Haramaki would be dangerous to the wearer more than their enemy?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Any thoughts on Armor Spikes?


What about them?

I would rule that you choose each time you use them.


Azaelas Fayth wrote:

What about them?

I would rule that you choose each time you use them.

This is where it gets tricky (especially the part that I mentioned above). This would make sense if both materials and their benefits were allowed. However, we're limited with the fact that, for example, an Adamantine Armored Kilt (with Armor Spikes) when attached to another armor (i.e. a Mithril Full Plate with Armor Spikes) is nullified by the part its attached to.

Simultaneously, Armor Spikes are objects in their own right, though they're attached to separate armors for usage. But the Armor Spikes attached to the Armored Kilt is a part of the Full Plate, which has Armor Spikes made of different material.

It would depend on how you see it. One can easily argue that Armor Spikes are a part of the armors and that since the Armored Kilt is attached to the Full Plate, the Full Plate's Spike Materials are more prevalent than the Armored Kilt's Spike Materials. At the same time, one can say that Armor Spikes are their own objects (since they can be enchanted on their own), and that regardless of attachment to either piece, they can be used independantly on how the armors are congregated.

For consistency with what I said and RAW regarding special material congregations, I would rule the former. However, the latter is just as viable for its own reasons.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

You can have Mithral Armor with Adamantine Armor Spikes.

The material of the armor, and the Armor Spikes do not need to be the same.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

You can have Mithral Armor with Adamantine Armor Spikes.

The material of the armor, and the Armor Spikes do not need to be the same.

Then the question boils down to the factor of should applying an Armored Kilt to another armor nullify the other attachments to the Armored Kilt.

Since you mechanically only have one armor active, you could only apply one set of Armor Spikes to that armor (since an Armored Kilt is only a part of the main armor at this time, not a separate armor itself). With that said, you only have access to one given set.


OK sorry for the minor necro-posting.

This was a glitch/feature that was pointed out to me:

Under the Piecemeal Armour System. You can have an Armoured Coat Torso Piece with other Armour type Leg and Arm pieces to make a suit of Armour.

Personally, I will be houseruling that the Armoured Coat is its own suit and can't be combined.

But thought I would throw this you here. Sorry for the slight Thread jacking.


Its fine. (I too am now guilty.) But it is an interesting corner case.

I'd rule that no, you can't use both since the Armored Kilt is an attachment in this case (the same as Armor Spikes), and that you can't apply two sets of armor spikes to one set of armor (which an Armored Kilt partly comprises). YMMV, however.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

Its fine. (I too am now guilty.) But it is an interesting corner case.

I'd rule that no, you can't use both since the Armored Kilt is an attachment in this case (the same as Armor Spikes), and that you can't apply two sets of armor spikes to one set of armor (which an Armored Kilt partly comprises). YMMV, however.

Wait who are you talking to?

I wasn't saying anything about Spikes...

51 to 77 of 77 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Adding an Armored Kilt to other armors All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.