Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Vampires, Gaseous form, and disrupting weapons


Rules Questions


Ran into a situation this weekend where we were fighting some vampires. The vampire was reduced to zero hitpoints and assumed gaseous form. Per the PRD the vampire defensive ability says this:

If reduced to 0 hit points in combat, a vampire assumes gaseous form (see below) and attempts to escape. It must reach its coffin home within 2 hours or be utterly destroyed. (It can normally travel up to 9 miles in 2 hours.) Additional damage dealt to a vampire forced into gaseous form has no effect.

So, while the vampire would take no additional damage, can they still be destroyed by a disrupting weapon?

Disruption: A disruption weapon is the bane of all undead. Any undead creature struck in combat must succeed on a DC 14 Will save or be destroyed. A disruption weapon must be a bludgeoning melee weapon.

Since it is just being struck in combat?

Thoughts?


I would vote yes, the vampire is still affected by a disrupting effect. The vampire is undead even in gaseous form. The weapon isn't doing damage, so hp total isn't a factor.


I'd also say yes. The disrupting effect doesn't need the weapon to deal damage (to get by the DR of 10/magic bestowed by Gaseous Form) to cause its effect from what I read.

Of course vampires being intelligent would have a route(s) to their coffin(s) picked in advance and if I were them at least a portion of the route would be difficult if not impossible to follow while not Gaseous (and guarded and warded).


It's the effect that would kill the Vampire in this situation, not the damage.

So yeah, striking a Vampire in Gaseous Form with a Distrupting weapon can kill it for good.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Vampires, Gaseous form, and disrupting weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.