Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Pathfinder Has No Rules For Getting Tired--What's a PFS GM To Do?


Rules Questions

51 to 59 of 59 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

We always assumed that you could only use that spell once on each dead caster.
I'm not sure where we got that, but that's how we were doing it so it never came up.


Kydeem de'Morcaine wrote:

We always assumed that you could only use that spell once on each dead caster.

I'm not sure where we got that, but that's how we were doing it so it never came up.

I actually assumed it too until the witch's player tried to quintuple cast it. You do have ground to stand on--the spell is non-instantaneous and is cast on the corpse, so the general rule that multiple effects of the same name do not create a greater result may apply.


Cheapy wrote:


Does the spell make you able to stomach that? I can imagine a few Con checks would be necessary.

As PF doesn't want to be a real life simulation I didn't bring that up earlier, but drinking 1-2 pints of untreated blood can hurt you. A lot.

The blood clots in your stomach and you can't digest it any more.
That's why the tuareg in africa mix the camel blood with milk before drinking it.

In addition the amount of iron contained in the blood can be harmful for humans when lots of blood are ingested.

Therefore I had made the blood one of the material components of the spell. That would eliminate this problem.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Well the amount of blood making the witch sick is easily fixed by the character forcing themselves to vomit right after casting the spell. This would be easy to accomplish.

Assuming the spell could not provide multiple benfits from the same corpse while the spell was in effect, all the witch would need to do is also prep dispel magic.

Drink blood teach spell dispel magic. They should be able to pass their own caster level check. This would only give them 16 hours to learn the spells, but that's still 4 4th level spells.

Shadow Lodge

Sean K Reynolds wrote:

If you don't get proper sleep, you're fatigued the next day. This ruling stems from:

1) The rules for sleeping in armor, Core Rulebook 150.
2) Forced march and hustle rules make you fatigued, Core Rulebook 171.
3) The fatigued condition is removed by 8 hours of complete rest, Core Rulebook 567.
4) The nightmare spell, which in addition to dealing damage and preventing spell preparation, prevents restful sleep and makes you fatigued.

There's no direct rule that says, "If you stay up all night, you're fatigued the next day," but the anecdotal evidence is sufficient to make a logical ruling.

Forgive me if I'm wrong, but for the purposes of PFS, that isn't really good enough, is it? It's my understanding that PFS is strictly Rules As Written. RAI, and even message board or FAQ clarifications hold no power whatsoever...if it isn't clearly corrected in a PFS approved source, then PFS used the version that is written down, logic and intentions be damned.


Kthulhu wrote:
Forgive me if I'm wrong, but for the purposes of PFS, that isn't really good enough, is it? It's my understanding that PFS is strictly Rules As Written. RAI, and even message board or FAQ clarifications hold no power whatsoever...if it isn't clearly corrected in a PFS approved source, then PFS used the version that is written down, logic and intentions be damned.

You're wrong. (But I forgive you.) Messageboard clarifications are binding as per the most recent Guide to Organized Play (4.2).

Designer

Also, Mike asked me to give my input on this topic. :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Also, Mike asked me to give my input on this topic. :)

Yep, that's two PFS questions of mine that got a quick definitive answer (the other was about a month back from Mike himself vis-a-vis whether deathwatch could auto-defeat invisibility, ambushes, and illusions as one player wanted it to). You and Mike are doing a stand-up job--thank you so much!


Patrick Harris @ SD wrote:

Also, it has been specifically ruled that using an "evil" spell isn't an inherently evil act in PFS.

Edit: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2olzg&page=2?Guide-42-changelog#63

It's not inherently evil in Core either.

51 to 59 of 59 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Pathfinder Has No Rules For Getting Tired--What's a PFS GM To Do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.