Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Wands of spells with target "you"; can they target other people?


Rules Questions


I've been searching these boards for an answer to this question, but haven't found one, so I figure I'll ask: If a spell normally permits only the caster as its target (mirror image is what I have in mind at the moment, but spells like alter self and disguise self raise the same question), and one crafts or acquires a wand of that spell, is the only available target still the caster of the spell, i.e. the wand holder, or can the wand be used to cast the spell on others in ways that the spell as normally cast can't be?

Grand Lodge

Umm...just you still. Why would you think otherwise? Other then wishful thinking.

Star Voter 2015

Yeah, I don't see why you think the target would change. Other people could certainly use the wand, though (probably with UMD), if they needed the spell.


Or people with the spell on their spell lists can use the wand on themselves, of course. But "you" spells have the same person as target and caster -- or in this case, item user, definitely.


That's what I thought. I just seem to see people on the boards talking about using wands to cast mirror image on other people, and wondered if they knew something I didn't! And honestly, I think most people's mental image of how wands work involves a simple point-and-shoot, and with that mental picture it's not hard to imagine using all wands on other people.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Wands of spells with target "you"; can they target other people? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.