Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Druid million and one questions


Rules Questions


If there is a do not ask 20 questions at once rule my bad...
Spell casting
1. The following quote concerns me, “To prepare or cast a spell, the druid must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a druid’s spell is 10 + the spell level + the druid’s Wisdom modifier.”(the first part) To mean this seems to indicate that you do not get to cast level 8 spells if you only have 17 wisdom (17 not = to 10+8). Obviously you have to be able to prepare the spell though.
2. If a druid is of the 3rd level and is has a wisdom modifier of 3 are they able to cast a level three spell as a bonus spell? After all they cast a level 3 spell from there domain? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/ability-scores#TOC-Abilities- and-Spellcasters (bonus spells chart)
3. You can cast your 3rd level domain spell at the 3rd level right?

Wildshape
1. When an animal has 2 claw attacks does this mean (1d4+mod)(1d4+mod)? I would assume that just a (1d4+mod) is correct. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/cat-great/leopard -snow-tohc (leopard)
2. (the following is a blanket kind of source for the next few questions) http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/monsters/universalMonsterRules.html
3. In the case of shaping into an animal with say 3 attacks if the druid lacks the BAB for multiple attacks can he still preform them all as a full-round action? I would assume yes because natural attacks function under different rules. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/deinonyc hus (3 attack M sized animal)
4. As for primary and secondary attacks I would like to know what I am to follow with regards to them? The is a table in the above source (under 2), but I am under the impression that is not universal for all animals. It could be that some of this is irrelevant and druids treat all attacks after the first as secondary attacks (-5 on attack rolls).
5. If a druid takes the form of a tyrannosaurus do they gain the special ability to add 2 times str. mod. Does this also apply to the grab sting and other abilities you might gain. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/tyrannos aurus
6. Wildshape is listed as a Su meaning that all you need to cast it is the listed requirement, which is knowledge of the creature. Would it not be better is the component requirement of beast shape were still in place as in the piece of the animal to turn into? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Spell-Like-Abilities-Sp- (near the bottom)
Iron wood
1. Basically my question here is what is the point of this item in terms of armor of the druid when as far as I can tell it basically a harder to reach version of dragonhide? I believe both give plus 8 to AC and both require a wild enchantment to function with wildshape. Considering that Ironwood cannot be achieved until the 11th level I cannot say I get it. If there is a rule on this I am missing please tell me. Also it might be that dragon hide cannot be bought and must be found or something due to it being a rare material (it has a listed price). http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/i/ironwood (ironwood) http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-armor/specific-magic-armor/dragon hide-plate (dragonhide)
Shapechange http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/shapechange
1. Under dragon form it lists that you get “a” breath weapon does this mean you can only fire it once or does it mean multiple uses? Beast shape IV seems to indicate that you keep the breath weapon for the duration and I would assume the cool down.
2. Giant form II lists regeneration as one of the abilities you gain but the two new forms do not have regeneration...
3. With beast shape IV you gain roar, so if you wild shape into a sphinx can you do the its roar? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/magical-beasts/sphinx/and rosphinx


1 person marked this as a favorite.
prometheus's_curse wrote:

If there is a do not ask 20 questions at once rule my bad...

Spell casting
1. The following quote concerns me, “To prepare or cast a spell, the druid must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a druid’s spell is 10 + the spell level + the druid’s Wisdom modifier.”(the first part) To mean this seems to indicate that you do not get to cast level 8 spells if you only have 17 wisdom (17 not = to 10+8). Obviously you have to be able to prepare the spell though.

Correct

Quote:


2. If a druid is of the 3rd level and is has a wisdom modifier of 3 are they able to cast a level three spell as a bonus spell? After all they cast a level 3 spell from there domain? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/ability-scores#TOC-Abilities- and-Spellcasters (bonus spells chart)

No, you can't do that. You don't get access to bonus spells until you get access to the normal spells. The chart in that is in the class description lets you know when you get access to a new level of spells.

Quote:


3. You can cast your 3rd level domain spell at the 3rd level right?

No. You get access to the domain spell any faster than you get access to a normal spell of that level.

Quote:


1. When an animal has 2 claw attacks does this mean (1d4+mod)(1d4+mod)? I would assume that just a (1d4+mod) is correct. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/cat-great/leopard -snow-tohc (leopard)

That is correct.

Quote:

3. In the case of shaping into an animal with say 3 attacks if the druid lacks the BAB for multiple attacks can he still preform them all as a full-round action? I would assume yes because natural attacks function under different rules. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/deinonyc hus (3 attack M sized animal)

That is correct.

Quote:


4. As for primary and secondary attacks I would like to know what I am to follow with regards to them? The is a table in the above source (under 2), but I am under the impression that is not universal for all animals. It could be that some of this is irrelevant and druids treat all attacks after the first as secondary attacks (-5 on attack rolls).

Primary and secondary attacks are the same for all animals until the animal's statblock indicates otherwise. The druid also follows the statblock of the animal. A druid that shapechanges into an tiger as an example gets the bite and both claws at the full BAB.

Quote:


5. If a druid takes the form of a tyrannosaurus do they gain the special ability to add 2 times str. mod. Does this also apply to the grab sting and other abilities you might gain. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/tyrannos aurus

A T-Rex is outside of the size range for a druid to use. With that aside if an animal only has one primary attack such as a rhino the strength mod used is 1.5.

As for your specific question the T-Rex only does double strength bonus due to a special ability. The beastshape spells do not grant the "Powerful Bite (Ex)" ability so the druid could not use it, even if he could change into a T-Rex

Quote:
6. Wildshape is listed as a Su meaning that all you need to cast it is the listed requirement, which is knowledge of the creature. Would it not be better is the component requirement of beast shape were still in place as in the piece of the animal to turn into? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Spell-Like-Abilities-Sp- (near the bottom)Iron wood

SU's are not spells and are not cast. Only spells and SLA's are cast. The difference is important because spells and SLA's work off of caster levels and they provoke AoO's. SU's do not. SU's also can not be dispelled. SU's since they are not cast also do not have components.

Quote:
1. Basically my question here is what is the point of this item in terms of armor of the druid when as far as I can tell it basically a harder to reach version of dragonhide? I believe both give plus 8 to AC and both require a wild enchantment to function with wildshape. Considering that Ironwood cannot be achieved until the 11th level I cannot say I get it. If there is a rule on this I am missing please tell me. Also it might be that dragon hide cannot be bought and must be found or something due to it being a rare material (it has a listed price). http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/i/ironwood (ironwood) http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-armor/specific-magic-armor/dragon hide-plate (dragonhide)

The armor and shield allow you to use the Armor and shield bonus while wild-shaped if you have the wild enhancement. They make you harder to hit. You can use hide armor until you can afford dragonhide armor. There is also stone armor in another book, IIRC.

Quote:


1. Under dragon form it lists that you get “a” breath weapon does this mean you can only fire it once or does it mean multiple uses? Beast shape IV seems to indicate that you keep the breath weapon for the duration and I would assume the cool down.

Wildshape does not give you "Form of the dragon", but if you were an wizard and used that spell you could only use the breath weapon once.

You also do not have access to Giant Form. Trolls do have regeneration though, and they are giants.

Druids don't get access to beast shape IV unless they cast the spell. Wildshape does not let them use it in any form. If you do cast the spell you do get access to "roar" since the spell says you do.


Off the top of my head...

Spell casting
1. You must have an 18 wis score to cast 8th level spells. This is true of all casting classes and their casting scores.
2. Druids get their first 3rd level spell at 5th level. There is a chart showing when they get access to certain spells. You can't gain bonus spells for a specific level until you gain access to that spell level.
3.Yes, you gain a domain spell at every level, or you take an animal companion. You do not get both, the choice is made at creation.

Wild Shape
1. You make two seperate attack rolls, and each that hits gets damage die plus bonus.
2. No question, no answer.
3. You get all the attacks of the shape you take. See the beast shape spells for additional info.
4. I'm a bit fuzzy on this, but I believe all primary are made using full, and all secondary are made at -5, regardless of order or number of attacks...
5. This depends on level, and the beast shape spell you are applying, I believe. Again, see beast shape.
6. It's an innate supernatural ability. There are no components, as it isn't a spell at all.

Iron Wood
1. Types of material available really depends on your GM. It's a 'meh' spell IMHO. Summon VI, Wall of Stone, Greater Dispell, and Find The Path.

Shapechange
I'm not seeing any of these abilities on the druid, but I'm not exactly an expert on them.

*Edit: Totally ninja'd...


Thanks for that epic fast response Concerro. It could just be that you misted the shapechange title towards the bottom. How ever I believe that druids who are able to cast level 9 spells would then be able to cast shapechange from their spell list, Which in turn gives them access to: Form of the dragon III, Giant form II, Magic beast IV, Plant shape III, and Elemental body IV. It would be a bit odd if wiz/sorc were the only ones to get shapechange anyway.

BTW ninja/sorc sounds cool
Rock On


Just a few comments for the OP...

On the wisdom score needed to cast spells, keep in mind that as your character advances in level there are numerous mechanisms available to increase your wisdom score. So even if you started with a base wisdom of 14 at level 1, by the time you reach level 15 you can easily have a wisdom of 20.

Also for wild shaping you have to read the rules carefully to be sure you are doing it right, especially at lower levels where more restrictions apply.

Druids are full casters so can benefit from any spell they can cast just like any other caster, but there are some rather perplexing omissions from the druid spell list compared to other full casters. For example, the druid spell list contains all the +4 attribute bonus level 2 spells EXCEPT "eagle's splendor". This is not merely perplexing and inconsistent, it means druids, alone among full casters, cannot directly boost their charisma to benefit from a +2 to Use Magic Device. That really sucks since Use Magic Device is the best way to get around their limited spell list. </end rant>


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yes -- note that a headband that boosts your Wisdom would count for prepping spell requirements. So it's possible (for example) to build a PC that starts with 13 WIS and still get to 9th level spells by adding a Headband of Inspired Wisdom (+2 by level 7, +4 by 11, +6 by 15th).

That's not a very good route to go if you ask me. If you lose that headband, you lose a huge chunk of your casting. And your save DCs would be lousy, so your casting would mostly be useful for buffs, utility spells, and healing.

About the only time I'd want to make a PC dependent on gear for casting would be something like a Ranger, where the spells are usually a side line anyway.

Shadow Lodge

prometheus's_curse wrote:


5. If a druid takes the form of a tyrannosaurus do they gain the special ability to add 2 times str. mod. Does this also apply to the grab sting and other abilities you might gain. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/tyrannos aurus
6. Wildshape is listed as a Su meaning that all you need to cast it is the listed requirement, which is knowledge of the creature. Would it not be better is the component requirement of beast shape were still in place as in the piece of the animal to turn into? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Spell-Like-Abilities-Sp- (near the bottom)
Iron wood
1. Basically my question here is what is the point of this item in terms of armor of the druid when as far as I can tell it basically a harder to reach version of dragonhide? I believe both give plus 8 to AC and both require a wild enchantment to function with wildshape. Considering that Ironwood cannot be achieved until the 11th level I cannot say I get it. If there is a rule on this I am missing please tell me. Also it might be that dragon hide cannot be bought and must be found or something due to it being a rare material (it has a listed price). http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/i/ironwood (ironwood) http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-armor/specific-magic-armor/dragon hide-plate (dragonhide)
Shapechange http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/shapechange
1. Under dragon form it lists that you get “a” breath weapon does this mean you can only fire it once or does it mean multiple uses? Beast shape IV seems to indicate that you keep the breath weapon for the duration and I would assume the cool down.
2. Giant form II lists regeneration as one of the abilities you gain but the two new forms do not have regeneration...
3. With beast shape IV you gain roar, so if you wild shape into a sphinx can you do the its roar? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/magical-beasts/sphinx/and rosphinx

Just to be clear. If you gained the ability to turn into a T-Rex (ignoring the size problem) you would not be not gain any of the abilities you listed except grab. You would not gain powerful bite because it is not a listed power you can gain and you would not gain sting, or any other abilities that the creature does not have. you only gain a listed ability if the creature your turning into has it.

Just don't want you to be caught unaware :)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Druid million and one questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.