Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Magic Jar on an Eidolon: Using Summon-Slave Crystal


Advice


Since PFS has banned the Synthesist class, I have been considering solutions for playing my main character in a manner similar to how I had played before. At first I thought of just playing the character from the point of view of the Eidolon. The only difference being that the Eidolon now has an elf following her around that she uses as her scale polisher.

Then I noticed Marionette possession, which is a great solution for synthesizing if you don't mind using all your high level spell slots on extended possessions, as well as carrying around your helpless elf body. My Dragon girl was already known for carrying around giant statues of Irori as part of her strength training. Thus it would be nothing out of the ordinary if she was carrying around a thousand pound "Huge Cage" re-skinned as a shrine of Irori, with a helpless elf body hidden inside.

Looking through the new Ultimate Equipment book, I found what might be an even better solution that would leave all spell slots intact. The "Summon-Slave Crystal". It is a 10,000 gold item. I am wondering if it won't work however. The text says "When casting a Summoning spell, the caster may immediately possess the summoned creature without a saving throw until the duration of the spell expires." Summoning an eidolon the standard way is called a "ritual", so this may only work for the 2nd level spell that brings the eidolon into play for a few minutes.

My question would then be, would this item be the ultimate synthesist item, and if it doesn't work, what are some other solutions people have come up with?

Paizo Employee Webstore Gninja Minion , Star Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014

Moved thread.


By analogy to Augment Summoning, I'd say you're right - it only works with the spell Summon Eidolon, not with the usual calling ritual.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Magic Jar on an Eidolon: Using Summon-Slave Crystal All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.