
Cfoot |

1) Can my 1st lvl oracle (Cha 17) use a scroll of a 1st lvl (divine)spell that is not on her spells known list, but is on her class list, without having to do a UMD check?
Example: She knows Bless, Divine Favor, Cure Light Wounds. She finds a scroll of Protection from Evil. Can she use it automatically?
2) What kind of check is it for a a spell that is of higher level?
Example: 1st lvl orcale finds a scroll of Sound Burst.
I found this:
"To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.
•The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
•The user must have the spell on her class list.
•The user must have the requisite ability score.
If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell's caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully."
Is this right?
The DC for the above example would be 4=(3 lvl +1).
Caster lvl check d20 +1(1st lvl)>4.
You only have that small chance of failure?

Harley Quinn X |

This is more of a general rules question than a PFS specific question. Don't be surprised if this gets moved to General Rules Questions forum.
1) Can my 1st lvl oracle (Cha 17) use a scroll of a 1st lvl (divine)spell that is not on her spells known list, but is on her class list, without having to do a UMD check?
Example: She knows Bless, Divine Favor, Cure Light Wounds. She finds a scroll of Protection from Evil. Can she use it automatically?
Yes. As long as it's on her class spell list, she can use it without a UMD check if she's of appropriate Oracle level to cast that level of spell, as per the findings you list for your second question.
2) What kind of check is it for a a spell that is of higher level?
Example: 1st lvl orcale finds a scroll of Sound Burst.
I found this:
"To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.
•The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
•The user must have the spell on her class list.
•The user must have the requisite ability score.
If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell's caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully."Is this right?
The DC for the above example would be 4=(3 lvl +1).
Caster lvl check d20 +1(1st lvl)>4.You only have that small chance of failure?
Yes, it's just a caster level check in that case. Add her Oracle level to a D20 result.

Nueanda |
1) Can my 1st lvl oracle (Cha 17) use a scroll of a 1st lvl (divine)spell that is not on her spells known list, but is on her class list, without having to do a UMD check?
Example: She knows Bless, Divine Favor, Cure Light Wounds. She finds a scroll of Protection from Evil. Can she use it automatically?
2) What kind of check is it for a a spell that is of higher level?
Example: 1st lvl orcale finds a scroll of Sound Burst.
I found this:
"To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.
•The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
•The user must have the spell on her class list.
•The user must have the requisite ability score.
If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell's caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully."Is this right?
The DC for the above example would be 4=(3 lvl +1).
Caster lvl check d20 +1(1st lvl)>4.You only have that small chance of failure?
What is the source for this quote?

![]() |

The source is the Core RuleBook, Magic Item section, Scrolls area, under Activation.
And that also makes it possible for a 3rd level Sorcerer to activate a scroll of a second level Sorcerer/Wizard spell without having to make a caster level check, since he is a 3rd level caster, and the scroll is going to be set to a 3rd level caster...
It doesn't ask if you can cast spells of that level, just if your caster level is equal to or higher than the caster level of the scroll...

Rikkan |
Example: She knows Bless, Divine Favor, Cure Light Wounds. She finds a scroll of Protection from Evil. Can she use it automatically?
Typically, if you find a scroll you have to decipher it first.
Decipher the Writing: The writing on a scroll must be deciphered before a character can use it or know exactly what spell it contains. This requires a read magic spell or a successful Spellcraft check (DC 20 + spell level). Deciphering a scroll is a full-round action.