
OgeXam RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32 |

I have some players asking some weird questions. I wanted peoples help on this ruling.
If a wizard casts a flaming sphere or similar type spell 20 feet in front of them then jumps in a barrel and someone closes the lid. On that wizards next turn can they use a move action to move the flaming sphere?
At this point they do not have line of effect but would still be within the range of the spell to cause it to move.
If so what they used a wall of force to seal themselves in a corner and they had two flaming spheres up. Could the use a move and a standard to keep moving the sphere or does the wall of force, iron, stone, ice, etc. block line of effect and therefore disallow control of the spell?

Grick |

If a wizard casts a flaming sphere or similar type spell 20 feet in front of them then jumps in a barrel and someone closes the lid. On that wizards next turn can they use a move action to move the flaming sphere?
At this point they do not have line of effect but would still be within the range of the spell to cause it to move.
I don't believe the wizard needs Line of Effect to move the sphere, as he's not casting a spell on a target, or creating an effect there.
Flaming Sphere says it "rolls in whichever direction you point" and it moves "as long as you actively direct it (a move action for you)." I think you could certainly point in a direction without seeing what's there. Directing it to go around a corner, for example, you could send it "ten feet forward, then twenty feet to the west" and hope it bumps into something or doesn't get stuck or whatever.