Controlled Rage Spells


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can an Urban Barbarian cast spells during a Controlled Rage?

Grand Lodge

Can he utilize spell-like abilities?

Sovereign Court

I will give you a curtesy bump because you answered my question earlier and I am curious as well.

Grand Lodge

If you believe this to be a good FAQ candidate, then please hit the FAQ button next to the original post.

Scarab Sages

I bumped you, but:

Controlled Rage (Ex): When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

It opens up skills,but doesn't remove this disclaimer:

While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration

Grand Lodge

Do spell-like abilities, or quickened spells count?

What about Stilled and Silent spells?

Scarab Sages

Stilled or Silent spells still require concentration to cast, and as far as I'm aware a Quickened spell would still require a concentration check to cast while grappled (please correct me if I'm wrong) so I would assume that anything which requires a concentration check can be assumed to require concentration.
Since Supernatural Abilities are not spell-like, and don't provoke AoO or anything that would indicate otherwise, I would say as long as nothing in the particular ability indicates it requires concentration, it should be fine to activate while using a Controlled Rage (or even a normal one).

Grand Lodge

Can you cast a spell, hold the charge, enter Controlled Rage, then deliver the touch spell?


Even if you enter regular rage, I would think you could still hold the charge. Nothing in the description of charge-holding describes it as an activity requiring concentration. If you're struck by a weapon or spell or a DOT effect hurts you while you are holding a charge, it doesn't discharge.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Controlled Rage Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.