Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Inquisitor Judgment Question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Quick question:

Does changing a judgement as a swift action (as stated in the rules) use up an additional use of the judgement ability?

Or rather: Once I have chosen one target for my judgement, I can change the judgement's effect (name, bonus, whatever) once per round (as a swift action) just like I desire,
and only changing THE TARGET of my judgement takes an additional use?

Thanks.


Actually, I don't see anything in the description of Judgement that specifies a target. It's essentially a buff that lasts for the entire combat session and works against all enemies you are fighting.

TRUE Judgment specifies one target, but that's the lvl 20 capstone.

As for changing judgement as a swift action... if it doesn't say it costs an additional use of the judgement ability, then it doesn't.
They are also able to change their judgment as a swift action before they even get a second judgement/day at level 4... so there is also that.


From my understanding the Judgement is not against a single target but rather against "her foes". I believe this means that it lasts until the end of combat.

Additionally, changing the type of Judgement doesn't cost an additional Judgement. Nor does using two judgements or three for that matter at the same time at higher levels.

I believe this was discussed in another thread but can't seem to find it anywhere.


Each use of Judgement lasts for an entire battle scenario, as long as you are "In Combat" as in, wielding a weapon against an opponent you can switch judgments as often as you like, however once that combat ends your judgement wears off & the next combat you use a Judgement is a second use of the ability.

If your battle has 10 opponents, you can target any of the opponents during the battle with the judgement.


Don't know how I mixed the "one target" in it.
Must have still thought about "Smite Evil".

Okay so: "One use = One combat" & changing JM effect costs no additional use, correct?


DracoDruid wrote:

Don't know how I mixed the "one target" in it.

Must have still thought about "Smite Evil".

Okay so: "One use = One combat" & changing JM effect costs no additional use, correct?

Correct, just costs a swift action.

Inquisitors seem a little more powerful now, eh? :)

(I once made the same mistake you did, and wondered what all the fuss was about until I realized judgements weren't against a single target... but an entire combat. Add Bane and other antics to it, and they quickly become pretty good!)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Inquisitor Judgment Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.