
Yora |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

What exactly does that mean?
"Counters" apparently means that spell x can be used to counterspell spell y while it is being cast. But what about "dispels"? If I cast bless on a creature affected by bane, do the spells negate each other and both are gone, or does the bless remove the bane spell from the creature, which then is also affected by bless?

spalding |

Counter is also a very specific term and only matters when counterspelling. Normally you must have the spell in question or dispel magic in order to counter spell. In the case of specific spells however you can use its opposite (Bane and Bless for example, or Slow and Haste) in order to counterspell.

Marius Castille |

My thought is that the slow spell negates the haste spell (with the slow spell having no additional effect beyond the negation) and the hasted subject doesn't receive the benefit of a saving throw to prevent this from occurring. If the subject received a saving throw, there wouldn't be a need to state that "haste dispels and counters slow" in the spell description. Also, it keeps things simple.