Question about Protoplasm


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Looking over the ability, it says you can hurl the protoplasm at a target within 30 feet, and that it acts as a tanglefoot bag. Does this mean it has a ranged increment of 10 feet, and that throwing it at 30 feet would be a ranged touch attack at -4? Or is there no ranged increment and it's limited only by its 30 foot range?

Owner - House of Books and Games LLC

Mergy wrote:
Looking over the ability, it says you can hurl the protoplasm at a target within 30 feet, and that it acts as a tanglefoot bag. Does this mean it has a ranged increment of 10 feet, and that throwing it at 30 feet would be a ranged touch attack at -4? Or is there no ranged increment and it's limited only by its 30 foot range?

No idea where protoplasm is from - how about a hint.


I'm resurrecting this as I have a Protean Sorcerer kicking about.

Protoplasm is a Spell-Like Ability for Protean Sorcerers; it's in the APG.

It's either a ranged touch attack of 30 ft--10 ft is pretty close, isn't it?--or it's an save vs. Charisma modifier, is my guess. A similar spell is Acid Splash, and that's a 25 ft. ranged touch attack.

It's such a tiny amount of damage...I wish it was just automatic like Magic Missile. ;) Of course, it does act like a tanglefoot bag as well (but lasts fewer rounds).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Protoplasm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions