Clarification for Wizard Teleportation School


Rules Questions


I wanted to get clarification about the shift ability that a wizard gains in the teleportation sub school.

Is it correct that after shifting, you cannot do anything else?

Say a bad guy has you cornered against a wall. You could not use this ability to port behind them and run to your allies?

Seems a little odd that you can caste a spell or move before hand and then shift, but cannot shift and then do something. Is this to limit cheesy attack combos?

The Exchange

It's the '... as if using dimension door...' bit which is the part you need to look at. The dimension door in question being a spell on page 269 of the core book, wherein it states, '... after using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn...' amongst other things.

Contributor

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

It works exactly like the dimension door spell.
Except you can do it at 1st level.
And it's a swift action.
And it doesn't provoke AOOs.
And you can use it a bunch of times per day.
So that's pretty badass.
Not being able to take an action afterward is a minor drawback by comparison.

Liberty's Edge

HowlingWolf wrote:

I wanted to get clarification about the shift ability that a wizard gains in the teleportation sub school.

Is it correct that after shifting, you cannot do anything else?

Shift (Su): At 1st level, you can teleport to a nearby space as a swift action as if using dimension door. This movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity. You must be able to see the space that you are moving into. You cannot take other creatures with you when you use this ability (except for familiars). You can move 5 feet for every two wizard levels you possess (minimum 5 feet). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier.

So, it works as if using dimension door...

Dimension Door: You instantly transfer yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You always arrive at exactly the spot desired—whether by simply visualizing the area or by stating direction. After using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels. A Large creature counts as two Medium creatures, a Huge creature counts as two Large creatures, and so forth. All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another, and at least one of those creatures must be in contact with you.


Edit: Wow. Triple ninja'd, including by a developer.


Thanks. Just wanted to make sure I was reading that right. You are right that it is a minor trade off for a cool ability.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

It works exactly like the dimension door spell.

Except you can do it at 1st level.
And it's a swift action.
And it doesn't provoke AOOs.
And you can use it a bunch of times per day.
So that's pretty badass.

+1


So wait. Can I take my action cast a spell, move whatever. Then if someone charges me, or tries to grapple me take my swift action to shift away?


No. It's a swift action, not an immediate action.

Sczarni

However, you can use it to escape a grapple you are already in. Sooooo, awesome!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification for Wizard Teleportation School All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.