
Lathiira |

RAW, using spellbooks as scrolls hasn't been part of the rules since the 1E Unearthed Arcana IIRC. Spellbooks are not the same as scrolls; they represent the entire process of a spell, including the timing of somatic components (wave your hands in circles starting at the 3rd syllable of thingamajingubra, end at 2nd syllable of fallaquien, etc.), which is not the same as a scroll which has much of the work already done save for the final words. That said, various groups have allowed people to do what you have described anyway.

threemilechild |

I cannot remeber the rules on this, so i thought id ask the community for a "point of order".
Can a sorcerer use the spells found in a spellbook and cast them as if they were scrolls? I remember that you could in 3.0, but now, im not so sure...
I thought I remembered this as well, but could find nothing about it when I looked a few months ago. (And I could be remembering it from UA, for all I know.)
One issue is that writing spells into a spellbook is very much cheaper and quicker than scribing a scroll: level squared * 10 for adding a spell to a spellbook and level * caster level * 25 for a scroll, with similar differences in scribing times.

Goth Guru |

You are going on RAWBP. That's Rules As Written Before Pathfinder.
Otherwise, there is nothing for or against.
I doubt a spell book even radiates magic.
When spells are memorized, part of the power comes from the character because they can't rememorize spells till they get another good night's rest. You can create a spell book that's a magic item.
You could also make it a house rule that spells could be cast out of a spell book like a scroll. Just try to keep it simple either way.

Lathiira |

If I recall correctly, there was a minor artifact that let players cast spells from them, each time they had a percent chance to flip the page, until the book got exhausted of pages and dissapeared.
Ah, ye olde book of infinite spells, a barrel of fun in any edition (at least, any I've played).

![]() |
I cannot remeber the rules on this, so i thought id ask the community for a "point of order".
Can a sorcerer use the spells found in a spellbook and cast them as if they were scrolls? I remember that you could in 3.0, but now, im not so sure...
No... if a wizard can't do it, neither can anyone else. The only use a sorcerer can make out of spellbook is a a field supply of toilet paper.

![]() |
If I recall correctly, there was a minor artifact that let players cast spells from them, each time they had a percent chance to flip the page, until the book got exhausted of pages and dissapeared.
It was the Book of Infinie Spells and it was a MAJOR artifact. Ran a chance of destroying you each time you touched a page.

Khuldar |

Unearthed Arcana, 1st ed. Page 80.
"Direct casting of a spell from a spell book automatically destroys that spell. There is also a 1% chance per level of the spell that the spells immediately preceding and following the spell cast will be likewise be destroyed. There is an additional 1% chance that the casting of the spell directly from the spell book will destroy the entire book"
There is a bit more, but that's the relevant bit...
With modern item creation rules this is prone to abuse (it costs less to write a spell in a spellbook then scribe a scroll)

![]() |
Unearthed Arcana, 1st ed. Page 80.
"Direct casting of a spell from a spell book automatically destroys that spell. There is also a 1% chance per level of the spell that the spells immediately preceding and following the spell cast will be likewise be destroyed. There is an additional 1% chance that the casting of the spell directly from the spell book will destroy the entire book"
There is a bit more, but that's the relevant bit...With modern item creation rules this is prone to abuse (it costs less to write a spell in a spellbook then scribe a scroll)
Like most of the material in Unearthed Arcana, this was an OPTIONAL rule not core. It was also not allowed in any of the WOTC networked campaigns I played in during the 3.x era.

![]() |
LazarX wrote:Not surprising, as that rule was from the 1st edition Unearthed Arcana, Copyright 1985. =)
Like most of the material in Unearthed Arcana, this was an OPTIONAL rule not core. It was also not allowed in any of the WOTC networked campaigns I played in during the 3.x era.
As I recall, filling out a spellbook was far more tedious in the 1.x era. Then again so was memorisation.

Wallsingham |

I allow any Arcane Caster Class to fire off a spell from a Spellbook. It acts as a scroll and is used up / gone when read that way. Any spell check for different levels must be made or the spell is lost and it fizzles or something whacky depending on the situation.
Just my own little House Rule that my one group has been using since the mid 80s.
Have Fun out there!!
~ W ~