Intense Spells and Scrolls / Wands


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

I tried doing a forum search before posting, but didn't find this question addressed.

Does the Evocation Specialist ability Intense Spells also add to scrolls read/wands activated that contain Evocation spells? Going by the ruling regarding Augment Summoning and such magic items, I'd say "yes" but more explicit guidance is welcome.


We discussed the issue in this thread as well.

My two cents: it works for scrolls (and maybe spell-like abilities), but not wands/potions. I found the following line helpful:

"Determine Effect: A spell successfully activated from a scroll works exactly like a spell prepared and cast the normal way."


Twowlves wrote:

I tried doing a forum search before posting, but didn't find this question addressed.

Does the Evocation Specialist ability Intense Spells also add to scrolls read/wands activated that contain Evocation spells? Going by the ruling regarding Augment Summoning and such magic items, I'd say "yes" but more explicit guidance is welcome.

Hmmmm. . . Augment Summoning doesn't help this because it doesn't reference casting a spell. Just the creatures you conjure through the spells. How you get the spell effect is left undefined (items, spell-like ability, etc).

Intense Spells references spells you cast. While I can easily buy the Augment Summoning argument, things become shakier with Intense Spells.

I'm not convinced either way, but right now I'm tending toward Intense Spells not working with scrolls/wands.

Edit: will work with scrolls. . . not with anything else.


hogarth wrote:

We discussed the issue in this thread as well.

My two cents: it works for scrolls (and maybe spell-like abilities), but not wands/potions. I found the following line helpful:

"Determine Effect: A spell successfully activated from a scroll works exactly like a spell prepared and cast the normal way."

Agreed.

PRD wrote:
Using a scroll is basically like casting a spell.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

I'd say scrolls and staves, yes.


With spell-like abilities, it works for the force power spell-like ability, so I'd imagine it would work for all spell-like abilities. You could make an argument that it only applies to wizard spell-like abilities, but that's rather flimsy.


With staffs, that's definitely a stretch. A staff is effectively a wand that has two differences:

* They use the wielder's ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells.

* They use the caster's caster level when activating the power of a staff if it's higher than the caster level of the staff.

I don't think that merits enough difference from wands to use the Intense Spells ability.

Sovereign Court

hogarth wrote:

We discussed the issue in this thread as well.

My two cents: it works for scrolls (and maybe spell-like abilities), but not wands/potions. I found the following line helpful:

"Determine Effect: A spell successfully activated from a scroll works exactly like a spell prepared and cast the normal way."

Yeah, that line is only under scrolls, so I'm inclined to say it's ok for scrolls only. Augment Summoning was throwing me off for a bit.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

meabolex wrote:

With staffs, that's definitely a stretch. A staff is effectively a wand that has two differences:

* They use the wielder's ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells.

* They use the caster's caster level when activating the power of a staff if it's higher than the caster level of the staff.

I don't think that merits enough difference from wands to use the Intense Spells ability.

It might be a stretch, but it makes 'sense' to me.


This very issue came up in a game today. I'm hoping the proposed Official FAQ comes into effect Real Soon Now...


Twowlves wrote:


I tried doing a forum search before posting, but didn't find this question addressed.

Does the Evocation Specialist ability Intense Spells also add to scrolls read/wands activated that contain Evocation spells? Going by the ruling regarding Augment Summoning and such magic items, I'd say "yes" but more explicit guidance is welcome.

In my game the DM has been allowing my Evoker to do this as a house rule, mainly so that the first-level wand of Magic Missile he picked up won't be completely worthless against the CR7-10 creatures we're dealing with in The Hook Mountain Massacre.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intense Spells and Scrolls / Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions