
Waldham |

Hello, I have a question about Green Man.
Green Rituals A green man can perform all their rituals without secondary casters, relying on their own primal ties to the vital essence in spirits of nature. A green man's awaken animal and primal call rituals work on plants instead of their usual range of choices. Most green men also know the ritual to create various types of leshys and possibly even magic allowing the creation of arboreals or more powerful plant creatures.
Awaken animal has a mental trait.
Does it function on a plant ? with a mindless trait ?
For example, does a tree consider to have a mindless trait ?
Thanks for your future answer.

breithauptclan |

This looks like NPC Fiat.
The abilities of Green Man work because they say that they work. Not because of any player-facing rules interactions.
So Green Man has some standard Rituals listed - but only in the interest of not having to create new names and reprint the effects of the Rituals. Not because the Green Man has to actually follow any of the rules for casting Rituals that the player characters use.

HammerJack |

Does it function on a plant?
Yes, the quoted text says so.
Do most plants have the mindless trait?
Most don't have statblocks to say so, but probably.
Does this mean the ritual doesn't work?
No, the more specific ability to awaken plants is taking precedence over the general rules.