Eidolons and the Reach Evolution


Rules Questions


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm making this thread because there seems to be enough ambiguity in the language that I think it needs to be clarified.
(I'm going off the SRD, so maybe I've missed something?)

Eidolons

Reach wrote:
One of an eidolon’s attacks is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon’s reach with that attack increases by 5 feet.

Questions.

1.How does it apply?
2.Can serpentines select it again?

1. Let's compare language.

Spoiler:

Reach (Ex) wrote:
One of an eidolon’s attacks is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon’s reach with that attack increases by 5 feet.
Improved Damage (Ex) wrote:
One of the eidolon’s natural attacks is particularly deadly. Select one natural attack form and increase the damage die type by one step. This evolution can be selected more than once. Its effects do not stack. Each time an eidolon selects this evolution, it applies to a different natural attack.
Grab (Ex) wrote:
An eidolon becomes adept at grappling foes, gaining the grab ability. Pick bite, claw, pincers, slam, tail slap, or tentacle attacks. Whenever the eidolon makes a successful attack of the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver check. If successful, the eidolon grapples the target. This ability only works on creatures of a size one category smaller than the eidolon or smaller. Eidolons with this evolution receive a +4 bonus on CMB checks made to grapple.

Okay, so Grab isn't the best example because they had to specifically list the compatible attack types; but it does give a reference to language use.

Reach clearly states ONE attack, whereas Imp Damage specifies one natural attack FORM...
Grab just allows us to see that they do indeed recognize each variety of attack as a TYPE.

Other sources.

Spoiler:

INA also uses the term form.
Ability Focus refers to "special attacks" (not particularly relevant to this conversation, but meh)
Great, and now the UMR chart confuses everything by referring to "attack type" as primary and secondary. (I think this only proves that "form" is the preferred wording)

Anyway. Strictly off this material, you would assume that Reach most likely applies to only 1 (of your potential 7) attacks, not 1 form.

However. (from the sample models)

Spoiler:

Aboleth wrote:

Source: Ultimate Magic

The eidolon looks like an aberrant aquatic creature such as an aboleth.

25 points: Base Form aquatic; Primary Evolutions reach (tentacles), tentacles (2); Secondary Evolutions basic magic (ghost sound), huge, large, major magic (minor image), minor magic (silent image), tentacles (2), ultimate magic (major image).

Note how it's plural. Whoever wrote this was most likely under the impression that Reach applies to an attack FORM.

(but it is the only model that adds Reach specifically)

Further evidence.

Hydra wrote:

Source: Ultimate Magic

The eidolon looks like a multi-headed hydra. This model creates a five-headed hydra. A cryohydra or pyrohydra can be created by adding the breath weapon and immunity evolutions, resulting in a 26-point model.

20 points: Base Form serpentine; Primary Evolutions bite, head; Secondary Evolutions bite (3), fast healing, head (3), large.

I find it hard to believe that a hydra model was designed with intent for Reach with only 1 of 5 bites.

But, both of these are from UM, so it's more of a window into their design mentality at the time of publishing.

That's 2 models that seem to intend for Reach to affect an attack FORM.

So which is it??

2. Again, let's look at what it says.

Spoiler:

Eidolon Base Forms wrote:
Each eidolon has one of three (four if using Ultimate Magic) base forms that determines its starting size, speed, AC, attacks, and ability scores. All natural attacks are made using the eidolon’s full base attack bonus unless otherwise noted (such as in the case of secondary attacks). Eidolon attacks add the eidolon’s Strength modifier to the damage roll, unless it is its only attack, in which case it adds 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier. These base forms also note any free evolutions that base form possesses. The bonuses from these free evolutions are already factored into the starting statistics. Alternatively, any one of these base forms can be used to make a Small eidolon. If the eidolon is Small, it gains a +2 bonus to its Dexterity score. It also takes a –4 penalty to its Strength and a –2 penalty to its Constitution. It also gains a +1 size bonus to its AC and attack rolls, a –1 penalty to its CMB and CMD scores, a +2 bonus on its Fly skill checks, and a +4 bonus on its Stealth skill checks. Reduce the damage of all of its attacks by one step (1d6 becomes 1d4, 1d4 becomes 1d3). If this choice is made, the eidolon can be made Medium whenever the summoner can change the eidolon’s evolution pool (which causes it to lose these modifiers for being Small).
Serpentine wrote:
Starting Statistics: Size Medium; Speed 20 ft., climb 20 ft.; AC +2 natural armor; Saves Fort (bad), Ref (good), Will (good); Attack bite (1d6), tail slap (1d6); Ability Scores Str 12, Dex 16, Con 13, Int 7, Wis 10, Cha 11; Free Evolutions bite, climb, reach (bite), tail, tail slap.
Evolutions wrote:

Each eidolon receives a number of evolution points that can be spent to give the eidolon new abilities, powers, and other upgrades. These abilities, called evolutions, can be changed whenever the summoner gains a new level, but they are otherwise set. Some evolutions require that the eidolon have a specific base form or the summoner be of a specific level before they can be chosen. A number of evolutions grant the eidolon additional natural attacks. Natural attacks listed as primary are made using the eidolon’s full base attack bonus and add the eidolon’s Strength modifier on damage rolls. Natural attacks listed as secondary are made using the eidolon’s base attack bonus – 5 and add 1/2 the eidolon’s Strength modifier on damage rolls (if positive). If the eidolon only has a single natural attack, the attack is made using its full base attack bonus and it adds 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier on damage rolls made with that attack, regardless of the attack’s type.

Evolutions are grouped by their cost in evolution points. Evolution points cannot be saved. All of the points must be spent whenever the summoner gains a level. Unless otherwise noted, each evolution can only be selected once.

Reach can only be SELECTED once. So the question is: Does the FREE evolution provided by Serpentine count towards that selection?

There aren't any examples in the models of a serpentine taking a 2nd reach, but I don't find it outside the realm of possibility.
And if you can select Reach after getting it for free, can you apply it to your bite again? (yay for [gargantuan] hydra eidolons with 25ft reach?)

Closing thoughts, found this thread.

Dark Archive

I want to thank the original poster for doing such an in depth job. I wanted to double check this issue for myself. I know I would not have listed all this info to better help all of us to understand.

I would like to add what I have been doing with a summoner that got up to 11th level in society play. First few levels I put reach on the claws feeling it was better to be able to have 2 reaching claw attacks a turn at 1d4+ str than on a single more damaging bite. I always felt it was fair to use both claws with reach. Nobody ever challenged me on that.

Around level 6 or so, somebody told me about the reach with a bite and trip combo and I thought that would work great so I have gone that way since. It can stop someone from attacking when they move to someone, get tripped and have to spend a separate action to get off the floor.

For a while, I paid for 2 sets of claw attacks. One on the feet and another on the hands. At that time I only used two attacks for reaching claws and did the other claws up close. I felt that having to pay a seperate evolution point for the extra claw attacks meant they would not be entitled to reach.

I hope enough people flag this for the FAQ so we can get a definitive answer.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Archaeik wrote:
Reach can only be SELECTED once. So the question is: Does the FREE evolution provided by Serpentine count towards that selection?

Reach can only be selected once for each attack. So for the serpentine the freebie goes to bite.

You could select it for the tail slap, or add limbs and claws and apply reach there.

On later looks I can see where a valid reading might be made that reach can only be selected once period.

So in the serpentine's case, if you use the latter reading, you can't pick Reach period since it's already committed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolons and the Reach Evolution All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions