Cloven Cleavage with a Cleaving Finish


Rules Questions


So, the question of this thread is: What happens if you have the Cleaving Finish feat and you drop the first enemy you hit while using the Cleave feat? Do you get to Cleaving Finish into the next adjacent enemy, and then finish your original Cleave into him?

RAW last time I looked says you would, (But I haven't reread CF in a while, so I'm not 100%.) however, how would that look in game to an observer? Also, I have a DM who disagrees with this outlook. (He also thinks Pathfinder Cleave is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much better than 3.5 because "That's what a Cleave is.") He says that you would CF into the adjacent target, and then Cleave into the next target after that, losing it if there are no more adjacent targets after the first.

Thoughts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Short: yes.

Long: Cleave and Cleaving Finish are two separate feats, two separate effects that grant each you one additional attack under special circumstances. They do not interfere with each other.

So yes, if you drop the first enemy with your single standard action attack, you get one additional attack against a foe in reach for each of both feats (since you fulfilled both requirements).

If there's only one foe within reach after you dropped the first one, you can attack that foe twice.
(If there are more, you can distribute the two attacks as it pleases you.)

There's nothing in the description of the two feats that forbids it.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Cyberwolf2xs wrote:

Short: yes.

Long: Cleave and Cleaving Finish are two separate feats, two separate effects that grant each you one additional attack under special circumstances. They do not interfere with each other.

So yes, if you drop the first enemy with your single standard action attack, you get one additional attack against a foe in reach for each of both feats (since you fulfilled both requirements).

If there's only one foe within reach after you dropped the first one, you can attack that foe twice.
(If there are more, you can distribute the two attacks as it pleases you.)

There's nothing in the description of the two feats that forbids it.

As he says it works perfectly together. I just did that last weekend with a great axe warrior. Move action to walk up stairs onto a balcony with 2 casters, and use cleave. Crit the first caster for enough to one shot him and with the following cleave and cleaving finish proceeded to 2 shot the other caster.


OH. BARBARIAN THOUGHT THREAD AM ABOUT SUNDERING LADYPARTS. AM VERY CONFUSE TO FIND RULES QUESTION HERE.

FOR RECORD, NEVER SUNDER LADYPARTS. AM VERY RUDE.

BUT YES. FEETS AM WORK TOGETHER MIGHTYFINE. AM NOT LIKE TWO LEFT FEETS.


AM BARBARIAN wrote:

OH. BARBARIAN THOUGHT THREAD AM ABOUT SUNDERING LADYPARTS. AM VERY CONFUSE TO FIND RULES QUESTION HERE.

FOR RECORD, NEVER SUNDER LADYPARTS. AM VERY RUDE.

CHA 7 barbarian gets ladyparts?

ON TOPIC:
Looks solid, sounds amazing.


Alwaysafk wrote:
CHA 7 barbarian gets ladyparts?

BARBARIAN GET ALL THE LADIES. ALWAYS.


Regarding the visuals of that action... I'd say it depends on which weapon you use and how you visualize a normal cleave.

For example, if you wield a battle axe two-handed, I'd imagine that you literally cleave the first foe in two pieces (or decapitate him), pull that swing through and sink your weapon into the second one with all your might.

Even if you make two bonus attacks from the game mechanic's perspective, in the description of the effects, you could very well fuse them into one brutal hit.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Gram wrote:
Cyberwolf2xs wrote:

Short: yes.

Long: Cleave and Cleaving Finish are two separate feats, two separate effects that grant each you one additional attack under special circumstances. They do not interfere with each other.

So yes, if you drop the first enemy with your single standard action attack, you get one additional attack against a foe in reach for each of both feats (since you fulfilled both requirements).

If there's only one foe within reach after you dropped the first one, you can attack that foe twice.
(If there are more, you can distribute the two attacks as it pleases you.)

There's nothing in the description of the two feats that forbids it.

As he says it works perfectly together. I just did that last weekend with a great axe warrior. Move action to walk up stairs onto a balcony with 2 casters, and use cleave. Crit the first caster for enough to one shot him and with the following cleave and cleaving finish proceeded to 2 shot the other caster.

I play a Paladin in PFS with Cleave and Cleaving Finish and this is how I've been using him.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cloven Cleavage with a Cleaving Finish All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.