Barrow's Edge - Drink of my Foes, How do you / your table rule it?


Rules Discussion

1 to 50 of 80 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Basically me and another GM have different opinion when you look at the "damage dealt".

Transcendence — Drink of my Foes wrote:
Requirements Your last action was a successful Strike with the barrow’s edge Effect Your blade glows as it absorbs your foe’s vitality. You regain Hit Points equal to half the damage dealt.

He looks at what damage the target took, applying both resistance and weakness, block and also accounting fore hit-points left, so if the target only have 2hp you get only 1 healing.

While i would rule it as half of the total damage of the attack before resistance, weakness, and block.

Basically he checks hp lost at Step 4: Reduce Hit Points
And i argue its should be at Step 2: Damage Type: "Once you've calculated how much damage you deal, you'll need to determine the damage type."

How do you/Would you rule it? or do you have any other insight?


I'd check it at the HP lost step, and I would expect that to be pretty common. While you might be correct from how the damage rules are written, it results in draining life from a shield and recovering health from something immune to the damage type, while also requiring keeping track of a separate number from halfway through calculations.

However, your way does avoid giving the player additional information about exactly how much health was lost, and it does line up with the damage rules wording, so I don't think you're wrong.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

I think the other GM is definitely more right here.

You activate the ability after you've already concluded the attack, and it specifically says "damage dealt" not damage you would deal or damage roll.

I mean think about it from a plain language stance: Your damage roll is a 6 and the enemy has weakness 5. If someone asked how much damage you did, I think 11 is clearly the more correct number to offer.


Here's another edge case for yall, if the exemplar gets Swipe, or another "one swing, multiple hits" attack, how do you rule it?

Do you add the dmg of both targets hit together for the Drink healing?

Is that Swipe style multi-hit substantially different from the exemplar getting a power-attack style ability that increases the damage of a single strike?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Trip.H wrote:

Here's another edge case for yall, if the exemplar gets Swipe, or another "one swing, multiple hits" attack, how do you rule it?

Do you add the dmg of both targets hit together for the Drink healing?

Is that Swipe style multi-hit substantially different from the exemplar getting a power-attack style ability that increases the damage of a single strike?

They can't use Drink of My Foes in that case. The last action has to be Strike, not Swipe.


QuidEst wrote:


However, your way does avoid giving the player additional information about exactly how much health was lost, and it does line up with the damage rules wording, so I don't think you're wrong.

Note that Barrow's Edge already gives some information about a foe's hp, so this is less of a concern from a flavour standpoint (if you're the type to hide hp and damage). Though stuff like Vampiric Feast already did it, so


I can see the ambiguity.

In the process for calculating damage, 'damage dealt' is not the same as 'damage taken by the target'. Resistance, Weakness, and Immunity can change the amount of damage. As can things like Shield Block. And temporary HP.

And in colloquial natural language, 'damage dealt' can also refer to the actual final amount of damage applied to the target's HP pool.

I think the important thing is to make a ruling at the table that is fun, balanced, consistent, and makes abilities feel impactful.

For consistency considerations, I would also bring up Share Life. Does the damage split happen based on the damage that the attacker rolls, or the final damage calculation result that the targeted and protected ally would take?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My interpretation is "damage dealt" means how much HP did the GM or player remove from the character's sheet. That means adjustments due to resistance or weakness, etc all factor in. And if you would have dealt 20 points of damage, but the enemy only had 2 hp, well you only dealt 2 actual damage.

For me, "damage dealt" is always damage taken by the target. But the damage you rolled can be modified by many factor.

There are complications to think about, like shield block. The shield takes some of the damage, rather than the character. But the ability references damage dealt, you dealt damage to both the shield and the character. There's a small argument you should count it. But flavor wise, were talking about "stealing vitality from the target" and I would only count it for living things damaged.

In the case of Share Life, I would count the shared damage as damage dealt (as long as it was a living creature).

I also probably wouldn't let it work on Undead or Constructs, because they don't have vitality to steal, though the ability isn't explicitly written that way.


HammerJack wrote:
Quote:
Requirements: Your last action was a successful Strike with the barrow’s edge

Activities contain actions, yes?

Any activities that ends with a Strike, would still meet the requirement, as far as I can tell. maybe?
Sudden Charge: 2 Stride + Strike works fine?

Oh, wow, didn't expect this to be a nasty rule hairball. It's the subordinate actions catch, but from the other direction.

Subordinate Actions:

Subordinate Actions wrote:

An action might allow you to use a simpler action—usually one of the Basic Actions—in a different circumstance or with different effects. This subordinate action still has its normal traits and effects, but it's modified in any ways listed in the larger action. For example, an activity that tells you to Stride up to half your Speed alters the normal distance you can move in a Stride. The Stride would still have the move trait, would still trigger reactions that occur based on movement, and so on. The subordinate action doesn't gain any of the traits of the larger action unless specified. The action that allows you to use a subordinate action doesn't require you to spend more actions or reactions to do so; that cost is already factored in.

Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action

Initializing the Sudden Charge is stated to not count for "next action is Stride" requirements, because the next thing you do is initialize the activity (Sudden Charge). But the reverse, "your previous action was ____" is left ambiguous.

The question becomes:
After you perform Sudden Charge, what is your "previous action?"
Is the action order: Sudden Charge --> Stride --> Stride --> Strike --> [next action] ?
Or are we supposed to inject an unmentioned "closer" action: Sudden Charge Start --> Stride --> Stride --> Strike --> Sudden Charge End --> [next action] ?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A most interesting topic of discussion!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmmmm....not very clear how this should be run.

I would probably lean to the side of the subordinate actions do not fulfill the requirements of "previous action was X" unless there is an official clarification otherwise. Hard to see all the possible interactions of letting it work...so it's probably best to generally say no.


You Double Slice an enemy with resistance to physical and fire and weakness to holy with one flaming longsword and one shock shortsword while being sanctified to holy and both attacks hit. If your last action counts as a Strike, how much damage did you do with the shortsword?


Gain 3A for turn --> Double Slice --> Strike --> Strike --> D.o.m.Foes

So if the 2nd hit whiffs, then D.o.m.Foes is invalid, as your last action was a whiffed Strike.

If both hit, I'd say you still only drink from that previous 1 Strike. Double Slice and it's cousins combine the damage for purposes of res/weakness. To possibly double the heal, the feat would need something more specific of an override, like "for all other purposes, treat these two attacks as a single Strike," and D.Slice does not have that text.

Which is why I used Swipe as my example, as it's a genuinely rare case where a single Strike could hit more than one target. To be self-consistent, I would rule that Swipe could improve the healing, as any Strike damage buff can also do.
____
For calculating the Double Slice heal, you're now in uncharted edge case territory, and I'd cut the benefit/loss of weakness/res in half.
(though if only the 2nd strike hit, then that still uses the full amount)

(and don't forget you'd need the Twin Stars feat to split the blade for Double Slice to be eligible in the first place)


Trip.H wrote:
HammerJack wrote:
Quote:
Requirements: Your last action was a successful Strike with the barrow’s edge

Activities contain actions, yes?

Any activities that ends with a Strike, would still meet the requirement, as far as I can tell. maybe?
Sudden Charge: 2 Stride + Strike works fine?

Oh, wow, didn't expect this to be a nasty rule hairball. It's the subordinate actions catch, but from the other direction.

** spoiler omitted **

Initializing the Sudden Charge is stated to not count for "next action is Stride" requirements, because the next thing you do is initialize the activity (Sudden Charge). But the reverse, "your...

There have been several threads in the past trying to solve this exact question:

"Does the Action within an Activity counts as last action done, or is the last action the Activity itself?"

There has been no consensus on the answer of the above.

So, find the interpretation that works best for your table and stick with that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The argument hinges on applying the last paragraph of Subordinate Actions in reverse

Quote:
Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action

They believe that restriction should be applied backwards as well as forwards, despite there being no instruction nor precedent to do so. While those like Claxon are inclined to deny backwards-looking abilities from working with the last action of an activity out of caution from some unforeseen exploit, I prefer to allow it because denying it has very definitely seen negative consequences for some class and archetype kits even without coming up with weird combinations. For instance, bog-standard rogues have Twist the Knife and many activities that can end with a Strike. I don't buy that Paizo intended that Twist the Knife can't be used unless the rogue forgoes them and only makes basic Strikes


Baarogue wrote:

The argument hinges on applying the last paragraph of Subordinate Actions in reverse

Quote:
Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action
They believe that restriction should be applied backwards as well as forwards, despite there being no instruction nor precedent to do so. While those like Claxon are inclined to deny backwards-looking abilities from working with the last action of an activity out of caution from some unforeseen exploit, I prefer to allow it because denying it has very definitely seen negative consequences for some class and archetype kits even without coming up with weird combinations. For instance, bog-standard rogues have Twist the Knife and many activities that can end with a Strike. I don't buy that Paizo intended that Twist the Knife can't be used unless the rogue forgoes them and only makes basic Strikes

Despite my stance as well being more permissive, I have to say that the "main" argument stems from the fact that PF2 erroneously uses the wrod "action" for too many different things.

action can be used for the measurement of "resources" (2 action activity)
action other times refers to single actions
action other times refers to both actions and activities.

so, when the book says "the last action used was" we cannot know if the word there is used to describe single actions, activities+actions, or something that took 1 action to perform. We CAN eliminate the last one simply because it doesn't make sense given the rest of the paragraph (last action was a Strike gives "type" and not quantity), but it's up to anyone's interpetation if it's about the 1st or 2nd.


Trip.H wrote:


If both hit, I'd say you still only drink from that previous 1 Strike. Double Slice and it's cousins combine the damage for purposes of res/weakness. To possibly double the heal, the feat would need something more specific of an override, like "for all other purposes, treat these two attacks as a single Strike," and D.Slice does not have that text.

The problem being that, because it counts as a single hit for weaknesses and resistances, how do you divide the weakness/resistance between the two Strikes if both would trigger it?


Ryangwy wrote:
Trip.H wrote:

If both hit, I'd say you still only drink from that previous 1 Strike. Double Slice and it's cousins combine the damage for purposes of res/weakness. To possibly double the heal, the feat would need something more specific of an override, like "for all other purposes, treat these two attacks as a single Strike," and D.Slice does not have that text.

The problem being that, because it counts as a single hit for weaknesses and resistances, how do you divide the weakness/resistance between the two Strikes if both would trigger it?

You trust yourself / GM to create a reasonable answer. Cut the res/weakness difference in half as you re-split the damage for the sake of calculating the heal.

The double swing gained 10 dmg from weakness? Only 5 of that contributes to the heal, etc.


So one minor correction, Double Slice doesn't use the "for the purposes of" language. It says "combine their damage" with no caveats. Twice-

small Double Slice Rant:

This ability is written really weirdly. It tells you to combine their damage, then add effects from "both" weapons" ... then it says you only get precision damage once but get to pick which attack gets it... which doesn't mean anything because the damage has already been combined and you've already applied the effects of both weapons.
Then it tells you to combine the damage again for some reason?? And reminds you that resistance and weaknesses only get applied once which is entirely redundant because you've already combined the damage... two times!

The second section is so wordy and you could remove like a third of it without changing the meaning at all I do not understand what they were doing here

That said, we can replace Double Slice with Flurry of Blows and it's the same conundrum since Flurry does use "for the purposes of" ... not sure why they have two abilities do almost the same thing but worded in completely different ways.

wrt "last action" abilities... there's been a longstanding debate over whether an activity with subordinate actions should be treated like a container (double slice contains two strikes in it that are wholly removed from the rest of the game) or a string (you start a double slice then strike twice).

I have to agree that it feels broken and unintuitively complex to have the last thing you do be strike an enemy but then argue it doesn't actually count because it was initiated with an activity, the logic is never explicitly laid out and it has some weird knock on effects.

That said there are a handful of abilities that do want to look back like that. Flensing Slice requires your last action to be Double Slice.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:
That said there are a handful of abilities that do want to look back like that. Flensing Slice requires your last action to be Double Slice.

Which doesn't necessarily preclude that the game might generally say: [You're last action was a strike, even when in a "container action"]

But it is good to note that at least some abilities treat container actions as the action taken, and not their subordinates.

It might even be that you can treat is as both.

Hard to know the intention, or if it can even be written succinctly.

It might be that generally it counts as whatever the last subordinate action is, but for certain actions (like Flensing Slice) it's looking for the container and obviously it isn't meant to not function at all so creates a kind of specific exception.


Squiggit wrote:

Yeah, I had to ninja my own post to avoid making an incorrect statement about Double Slice. The text does get to the same destination as it's better-written cousins, but... oof. When I re-read its text, I facepalmed at how poorly it's written. Annoying how it blatantly looks like a rough draft for the Flurry family that was never updated once the team got their wording down.

_____________________
For me, the main RaI reason I would allow "last activity action" to qualify for Drink, etc, is because it makes for better gameplay while not being a balance risk ( because other amp synergies already work).

Right now, you can juice the crap out of the Drink healing by stacking as many "next Strike" damage enhancements as you choose to obtain. Even effects like an Energy Mutagen's bonus dmg will improve Drink's healing. The ability itself clearly wants you to buff the Strike dmg as much as possible, there's no limit/restraint on Drink that would be loopholed around.
This "plz buff ur Strike" aspect of Drink makes countless options into nearly-false choices for such a PC; they are incredibly incentivized to avoid all incompatible enhancements, while selecting only the compatible ones.

For the "birds eye balance view":
If Activities like Sudden Charge selectively denied the contained Strike from applying its damage buffs, and/or the activity blocked things like Sneak Attack dmg procs, that would be my signal that such abilities were designed around only the base/raw form of Strike. That would do a lot to characterize compatibility with the "prev action was Strike" abilities as an unintended loophole to amp the activity.

This "boosting the contained Strike is valid" tells me that the system is fine with (and directly encourages) one to improve Activity-contained Strikes however they can.
Condemning Drink to only ever be compatible with raw-Strike would not be justified by "balance concerns" and would just be a pain in the ass that doesn't even nerf it. That ruling only artificially limits what boosts are compatible (to only passive and pre-Strike boosts).
And it would limit Drink in a way that would be suuuuper frustrating for a martial in actual play, who are all about Activities that modify Strikes.

I'd bet a whole lot that many tables have already been allowing things like Sudden Charge --> Drink without even pausing to think much about it, at most only needing a vague/quick thought of "well, the other ruling would be 'too bad to be true.'"


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Trip.H wrote:


You trust yourself / GM to create a reasonable answer. Cut the res/weakness difference in half as you re-split the damage for the sake of calculating the heal.

The double swing gained 10 dmg from weakness? Only 5 of that contributes to the heal, etc.

Well... If the answer is 'your try to find a reasonable split' I think it's fairly clear why the interpretation that you can't count them as Strikes for things that specifically want to check your previous Strike hold, right? Because this is one of the things not counting Double Slice/FoB etc. prevents.

There's also the case of those multi-action Strikes that tend to add additional dice of damage or other effects. Those may also interact oddly with abilities expecting a vanilla Strike.

Really, though, it isn't much of a problem because the Exemplar natively has only one non-transendence ability that runs afoul of this, Battle Hymn to the Lost. It's not 'too bad to be true' because the Exemplar class is built to make sure it's not an issue


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ryangwy wrote:
Trip.H wrote:


You trust yourself / GM to create a reasonable answer. Cut the res/weakness difference in half as you re-split the damage for the sake of calculating the heal.

The double swing gained 10 dmg from weakness? Only 5 of that contributes to the heal, etc.

Well... If the answer is 'your try to find a reasonable split' I think it's fairly clear why the interpretation that you can't count them as Strikes for things that specifically want to check your previous Strike hold, right? Because this is one of the things not counting Double Slice/FoB etc. prevents.

There's also the case of those multi-action Strikes that tend to add additional dice of damage or other effects. Those may also interact oddly with abilities expecting a vanilla Strike.

Oh, yeah. I never cared for any arguments that counted compound activities as Strikes, but seeing all this here - no. Only Strikes are 'Strikes'.

Maybe in some cases it can be reviewed, but generally - deal with it.


Errenor wrote:
Ryangwy wrote:

Oh, yeah. I never cared for any arguments that counted compound activities as Strikes, but seeing all this here - no. Only Strikes are 'Strikes'.

Maybe in some cases it can be reviewed, but generally - deal with it.

Then Investigators and Rogues are boned and it is TBTBT.

Both of their precision damage class abilities (Strategic Strike and Sneak Attack, respectively) would only ever apply to the Strike basic action, not Strike subordinate actions. Double Slice offers some insight that, in fact, it does not work that way with the Specific overriding General by limiting ticks of precision damage to only one of the subordinate Strikes.

Under a "Only Strikes are 'Strikes'" convention -- note, I mentally translate that to: "Only basic action Strikes, not subordinate action Strikes, are 'Strikes'[/i] -- only Precision Rangers would be able to gain precision damage when performing a Double Slice since their Edge states (with added emphasis), "The first time you hit your hunted prey..."

Then there is Mug. It is a two-action activity with a Strike subordinate action, and it says (with added emphasis): "... Make a melee Strike against an adjacent enemy. If you hit and deal sneak attack damage, you can also attempt to Steal from the target, even if the target is in combat." The verbiage implies that the subordinate Strike, in general, will deal Sneak Attack damage if the target is off-guard.

The intent seems pretty clear that Strategic Strike and Sneak Attack apply to any Strike, basic or subordinate. Otherwise, Mug would have had different language creating a Specific override to the General; something like, "If your target is off-guard and you hit, deal sneak attack damage and you may also attempt to Steal..."

Since neither Strategic Strike nor Sneak Attack have any verbiage indicating that those abilities are creating a Specific vs. General override, I conclude that, in general, there is no distinction between simple Strikes and subordinate Strikes; they are all Strikes.

It does create some disconnect between "your next action is" and "your last action was". Any "your next action is" a Strike would not work with Double Slice, Flurry of Blows, Mug, Skirmish Strike, Sudden Charge, etcetera. The next action is the activity, not the subordinate actions. Conversely, "your last action was" a Strike does work with activities that end with a subordinate Strike.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sneak Attack wrote:
When your enemy can't properly defend itself, you take advantage to deal extra damage. If you Strike a creature that has the off-guard condition with an...

This does a good job of helping to iron out that, yes, activity-contained Strikes must be Strikes. They do not get some sub-label that renders them incompatible with abilities asking for "Strikes." Special, modified Strikes are still Strikes.

To block the "previous action was ___" abilities, there still remains the ~interpretation where you add in an extra, unwritten "closing action" to go between a contained-Strike and the end of activity.

[Skirmish Strike: Start] --> [Step] --> [Strike] --> [Skirmish Strike: End]

However, to do this would in my opinion be inventing new text that does not exist, with the goal to make such "previous action" abilities incompatible.
I do not see any reason to do so; I do not think this would improve gameplay, nor do I see any sign of that being the dev intent.

I really do not see how one can read an activity like Skirmish Strike and come to the conclusion that there is supposed to be some sort of "ghost action" at the end, which only exists to deny the rare "previous action was ___" abilities.


Pixel Popper wrote:


Then Investigators and Rogues are boned and it is TBTBT.

Both of their precision damage class abilities (Strategic Strike and Sneak Attack, respectively) would only ever apply to the Strike basic action, not Strike subordinate actions. Double Slice offers some insight that, in fact, it does not work that way with the Specific overriding General by limiting ticks of precision damage to only one of the subordinate Strikes.

To be clear, this applies to actions with a precondition of 'your last action was a Strike', not anything that enhances a Strike - Drink of my Foe being the headliner here, because it cares about the damage dealt by said last action and many compound activities involving a Strike modifies the damage dealt in ways that require judgement calls on what damage from that activity comes from that Strike and not, say, the previous Strike, or a rider on the activity that triggers on a hit, or 'miss damage' which doesn't always have clean definitions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Trip.H wrote:


I really do not see how one can read an activity like Skirmish Strike and come to the conclusion that there is supposed to be some sort of "ghost action" at the end, which only exists to deny the rare "previous action was ___" abilities.

The presumption is that your last action is a Skirmish Strike and the Strike that happens within happens but isn't an action. FWIW, metamagic already works like that - there's no case of a compound action involving Casting A Spell also benefitting from metamagic or catalysts, and items that Activate to cast instead of flat out having Cast a SPelldon't count either


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pixel Popper wrote:
Errenor wrote:

Oh, yeah. I never cared for any arguments that counted compound activities as Strikes, but seeing all this here - no. Only Strikes are 'Strikes'.

Maybe in some cases it can be reviewed, but generally - deal with it.

Then Investigators and Rogues are boned and it is TBTBT.

Both of their precision damage class abilities (Strategic Strike and Sneak Attack, respectively) would only ever apply to the Strike basic action, not Strike subordinate actions.

Of course not. You've just teared out all the context. We were discussing previous and next actions. So of course subordinate Strikes are Strikes. Duh? And they get these precision features. But compound activities with Strikes don't count as Strikes and Strikes there are 'isolated' and 'hidden'.

(for me, but I very much suspect the devs also meant it at the very least in part: some of the devs some of the time; where 'some' could include 'all'
What I will never believe is they intended to disentangle last strikes from compound activities which merge them, this is just not the game for that and the devs are not crazy)
That's all I meant.
If this would be the only 'problem' with this judgement, it's definitely not a problem. I only was wary if some martial feat would become too weak to deal with it, but it's not it. Drink of my Foes definitely doesn't need it: want to heal? Make simple Strikes and deal with it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

TBH that's kind of my trouble making a definitive ruling here. The argument against spends a lot of time inventing concepts that aren't in the rules. Disentangling this. Isolating that. Toying with order of operations rules that don't exist. We're less in the realm of discussing concrete rules and more devising convenient inferences in order to reach a predetermined goal.

Ryangwy wrote:
FWIW, metamagic already works like that - there's no case of a compound action involving Casting A Spell also benefitting from metamagic or catalysts, and items that Activate to cast instead of flat out having Cast a SPelldon't count either

I can't think of any metamagic feat that you use after casting a spell. Do you have an example of the interaction you're talking about?


The Guns & Gears Remaster Errata changed the wording on Clear a Path to allow it to benefit from Actions or Activities that include Strikes, rather than only a plain Strike. The fact that they felt the need to make this change tells me that things that say "Your previous action was a Strike" only work with basic Strikes.

Additionally, I think it's very intentional that every weapon Ikon ability is either 2 actions or a basic Strike + 1 action follow-up.


Deathsworn wrote:

The Guns & Gears Remaster Errata changed the wording on Clear a Path to allow it to benefit from Actions or Activities that include Strikes, rather than only a plain Strike. The fact that they felt the need to make this change tells me that things that say "Your previous action was a Strike" only work with basic Strikes.

Additionally, I think it's very intentional that every weapon Ikon ability is either 2 actions or a basic Strike + 1 action follow-up.

I read the change as allowing Clear a Path to work after activities that included but didn't end with a ranged Strike since so many gunslinger feats are "Strike and then do something else." I don't see it as proof that backwards looking abilities only see basic actions


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:


I can't think of any metamagic feat that you use after casting a spell. Do you have an example of the interaction you're talking about?

It's mostly to establish that there's a common case of actions requiring your 'next action to be X' only triggers if it's X and not a compound action involving X, so naturally anything that requires your 'previous action is X' should follow the same sense.


Ryangwy wrote:
Squiggit wrote:


I can't think of any metamagic feat that you use after casting a spell. Do you have an example of the interaction you're talking about?
It's mostly to establish that there's a common case of actions requiring your 'next action to be X' only triggers if it's X and not a compound action involving X, so naturally anything that requires your 'previous action is X' should follow the same sense.

I mean, the argument in favor of the latter working is that you look at each individual act being performed in sequence, so no the logic wouldn't hold both ways because the abilities are asking for different things.

It also doesn't make a lot of sense to me that because a certain ability works in one way that another ability with a completely different requirement would have a similar outcome. There's no particular reason you should expect parity between them because they literally aren't even asking for the same thing.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:


I mean, the argument in favor of the latter working is that you look at each individual act being performed in sequence, so no the logic wouldn't hold both ways because the abilities are asking for different things.

It also doesn't make a lot of sense to me that because a certain ability works in one way that another ability with a completely different requirement would have a similar outcome. There's no particular reason you should expect parity between them because they literally aren't even asking for the same thing.

Really? I thought 'If your next action' and 'Your last action was' would follow the same logic for compound actions

Spellshape: You typically can’t use spellshape with Spellstrike because spellshape actions require the next action you take to be Cast a Spell, and Spellstrike is a combined activity that doesn’t qualify.

Spellstrike specifically is Cast a Spell -> Strike, so I feel this is solid proof that combined activity don't trigger 'your next/your last action'


Trying to sketch this out further. I think there's basically three position that can be taken on combined actions.

The first is that a combined action is two actions taken in sequence that also are the combined action. Visually, Action1(Combined) -> Action2(Combined). This means that any action that requires 'your next action is Action1' and 'your next action is Combined' is true, and likewise 'your last action was Action2' and 'your last action was Combined' is also true. However, as per Spellstrike, this interpretation is false.

The second is that the combined action creates the two actions. So Combined -> Action1 -> Action2. This means only 'your next action is Combined' and 'your last action is Action2' are true. However, Flensing Strike means this interpretation is untrue.

The third is that the combined action nests two actions within, but the action as a whole is only the combined one. Combined(Action1 -> Action2). Therefore, only 'the next action is Combined' and 'the last action is Combined' are true. This seems to be the most correct interpretation,as I cannot think of anything that contradicts it.


That was the goal of Pixel Popper's look at Sneak Attack, etc.

For "you make a Strike / ___ action" abilities like Sneak Attack to work with activity-Strikes, that limits the possibilities more than you suggest.

The ~"the Activity is the only action" version is outright incompatible. Note how the brackets nest the sub actions into not being "real actions" anymore.
Next action strike?: NO, is Skirmish Strike |
[Skirmish Strike: (Step) -> (Strike)] -> Prev action Strike?: NO, was Skirmish Strike

To use that idea, it means that the *only* real "action" you are performing is the Activity. You otherwise cannot have the same Activity-as-action being both the "before" and the "previous" contained actions. That singular "thing" cannot occupy both the "next" and "previous" spot without removing the sub-actions from being real links in the chain.

But this is the possibility that *definitely* cannot work. Because that would break all abilities that key off "When you perform a ____ action" being activity-compatible.

______________

This leads to the "injected ghost action blocker" being the closest to a Raw-legit way to deny Sudden Charge --> Drink.

You still have the Action initialization to count as the first "action" in the chain, but need to add an extra closer action at the end. This is the only way to allow "___ action" abilities to trigger off sub-actions, while still preventing such a sub-action from being the last action in sequence.

[Skirmish Strike] -> [Step] -> [Strike] -> [Skirmish Strike: end]


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Whichever helps interpret it best, I suppose. Either way I think it's clear RAW that anything that looks at the 'next action' or 'previous action' only sees the combined action but anything that sees 'an action' sees the individual action.


Here's the text at issue without clipping:

Subordinate Actions:
Subordinate Actions wrote:

An action might allow you to use a simpler action—usually one of the Basic Actions—in a different circumstance or with different effects. This subordinate action still has its normal traits and effects, but it's modified in any ways listed in the larger action. For example, an activity that tells you to Stride up to half your Speed alters the normal distance you can move in a Stride. The Stride would still have the move trait, would still trigger reactions that occur based on movement, and so on. The subordinate action doesn't gain any of the traits of the larger action unless specified. The action that allows you to use a subordinate action doesn't require you to spend more actions or reactions to do so; that cost is already factored in.

Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action

This text exists to block things like using Haste's 1A for a Skrimish Strike: Strike -> Step.
It instructs us to consider the initialization of an activity to itself be its own "action" or else you get mechanical problems where a player could attempt to get a free 0A Step via Hasted Skirmish Strike, etcetra.

This is needed because it is the activity step of the process where action costs are spent, so everything needs to be locked in and committed at that moment.

I really, really do not see any indication that we are supposed to denying the last action of an activity chain status as "your previous action"

nor do I see any mechanical need for that to be the case.
(Again, we are talking about Exemplar's character-defining super action. For the PC to select a self-heal that only works conditionally, and heals for 1/2 the dmg, is not a balance risk. That choice trades away options like Gleaming Blade, Aegis, Horn o Plenty, etc.)

______

The text makes it clear that activity sub-actions still qualify for and trigger reactions and the like, then imo they also work to fulfill "Requirement" clauses.

Are you going to block a creature from using a revenge-style ability that keys off the PC's hitting w/ a Strike, because "activity sub actions don't count?"


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I mean, I quoted the Spellstrike rules text - unless we think that 'previous action' and 'next action' work differently, this is how it works.

The Exemplar doesn't lose anything because only one native Exemplar action would run afoul of this, in the same way the Magus and Psychic don't lose anything from not being able to metamagic because they're designed around that.


Ryangwy wrote:
I mean, I quoted the Spellstrike rules text - unless we think that 'previous action' and 'next action' work differently, ...

Yes, we do!

That's the whole point, lol. We only inject a "ghost action" when initializing an activity because the text instructs us to. This is because Quickened and other abilities allow for only specific actions, and that "ghost activity action" rather elegantly stops such action shenanigans.

There is no instruction to put another ghost "closer action" at the end of an activity sequence. It might be some human symmetry bias to assume that, but it's just not there.

Because it's not there, we cannot *prove* the rules intended to leave it blank.

We can point to the many abilities of Twist the Knife's ilk that seem designed to work with activity-Strikes, and would be quite "bad" if forced to work with raw-Strikes only.

I can say the Provocator Archetype has a Flourishing Finish feat that would be rendered incompatible with the archetype's own modded-Strikes.
But I cannot prove that this current RaW (which allows the "prev __" to work with modded-Strikes) is intentional.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I mean, it seems perfectly logically that 'if your next action is a Spellstrike, your next action is not Cast A Spell, despite it being the first action in a Spellstrike and qualifying for any bonuses to Cast Spell' and 'if your last action was a Sudden Charge, your last action was not a Strike, despite it being the last action in s Sudden Charge and qualifying for any bonuses to Strikes' are equivalent, and the first is RAW true.

'Ghost action' is how you conceptualise it but it's equally true to think of the combined action as a container and anything that checks specifically for the previous/next action to only see the container, while anything that checks for if any action was taken sees both the container and the contents. And even if it was a 'ghost action', Flensing Strike indicates that RAW the combined action must be the 'last action'.

There's no reason to believe Twist the Knife was in particular meant to work with activity-Strikes, I'm not sure where you get it from. What are we blocking anyway, Twin Feint? Underhanded Assault? Head Stomp? Skirmish Strike? It's perfectly possible to build a rogue using none of these. Provocator isn't even a particularly good example, its combined activities combines a Strike with an autocrit Grapple and a Strike followed by a Step, hardly shining examples of the last action being a Strike.


Ryangwy wrote:
Really? I thought 'If your next action' and 'Your last action was' would follow the same logic for compound actions

They follow the same logic but because the requirements are different so are the outcomes.

"Your next action is" doesn't work with spellstrike because the next thing you do is activate Spellstrike.

"Your last action was", at least under the sequence based framework, would be the strike.

Ryangwy wrote:
Either way I think it's clear RAW that anything that looks at the 'next action' or 'previous action' only sees the combined action but anything that sees 'an action' sees the individual action.

I mean it's obviously not clear RAW because no one has been able to find a rule that actually says that.

It's possible that's Paizo's design intention, but there's absolutely no concrete rules guidance here.

Ryangwy wrote:
but it's equally true to think of the combined action as a container and anything that checks specifically for the previous/next action to only see the container

Right, that's definitely the main other framework, but it we're still stuck with the problem that this concept is never defined in the rules... which is problematic if it's meant to be a fundamental way we're supposed to look at certain mechanics.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:


"Your last action was", at least under the sequence based framework, would be the strike.

But I did establish that earlier. That can't work because Flensing Strike exists. The last action of a combined action is the combined action. Like I said, there's three logical ways to construct it, but 'the first and last actions are both the combined and the individual actions' is untrue as per Spellstrike, and 'the combined action then produces two actions' is wrong as per Flensing Strike, leaving us with the option that 'the first and last action are only the combined action'


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:
TBH that's kind of my trouble making a definitive ruling here. The argument against spends a lot of time inventing concepts that aren't in the rules. Disentangling this. Isolating that. Toying with order of operations rules that don't exist. We're less in the realm of discussing concrete rules and more devising convenient inferences in order to reach a predetermined goal.

Please stop this nonsense. Absolutely nothing is invented. The situation is crystal clear: previous action, the same as previous activity (because the game doesn't distinguish them) - it's the thing on which you spend your actions. It can't be more clear. So it's Double Slice or Flurry of Blows and never a Strike (unless it's really a Strike).

It's the people that look inside actions invent things. Nobody asked them to, just look at what you declare as your actions for a turn. Can't be easier and more straightforward.
I only allow thinking about it for myself because sometimes I have doubts if some of the devs could also make such error*. But for now I see no evidence of this.
* yes, inconsistency is an error even if you are a game designer


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Subordinate action rules wrote:
Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action

This makes it clear, at least to me, that whatever you do is the activity, not the subordinate actions. Your current, previous or next action can never be a subordinate action. Yes, the specific example used is next action, but they clearly call it out as just an example so I see no reason whatsoever why this rule would not apply to previous action as well?


If an activity is not its subordinate actions, then it gains none of the traits or other properties of its subordinate actions, no?

Seems like quite the slippery slope as that logical process and line of reasoning would completely break the game when taken to its logical conclusion.

Ergo, it must be the case that Swipe can be used prior to Drink From My Foes.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
The Contrarian wrote:

If an activity is not its subordinate actions, then it gains none of the traits or other properties of its subordinate actions, no?

Seems like quite the slippery slope as that logical process and line of reasoning would completely break the game.

Ergo, it must be the case that Swipe can be used prior to Drink From My Foes.

I'm not sure why people keep reverting to this when the most parsimonious explanation (as I've established... multiple times) is that an activity is its subordinate actions for the most part, but using the activity, and hence its place in a chain of action is not the same as using its subordinate actions.

So Swipe benefits from things that give bonuses to Strikes, but does not count as a Strike for things that specify 'your last/next action' or that require you to make a Strike (like Haste or, say, Swipe itself).

This principle is supported by things like Spellstrike and Flensing Strike, as explained above. Nothing printed directly runs afoul of this interpretation and it saves the headache of judging how Double Slice into Drink of my Foes work when triggering multiple weaknesses and resistances.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
The Contrarian wrote:

If an activity is not its subordinate actions, then it gains none of the traits or other properties of its subordinate actions, no?

Seems like quite the slippery slope as that logical process and line of reasoning would completely break the game when taken to its logical conclusion.

Ergo, it must be the case that Swipe can be used prior to Drink From My Foes.

Well, no, Subordinate actions keep their effects and traits, that is also very specifically covered in their rules, so let's quote everything this time:

Subordinate Actions wrote:

An action might allow you to use a simpler action—usually one of the Basic Actions—in a different circumstance or with different effects. This subordinate action still has its normal traits and effects, but it's modified in any ways listed in the larger action. For example, an activity that tells you to Stride up to half your Speed alters the normal distance you can move in a Stride. The Stride would still have the move trait, would still trigger reactions that occur based on movement, and so on. The subordinate action doesn't gain any of the traits of the larger action unless specified. The action that allows you to use a subordinate action doesn't require you to spend more actions or reactions to do so; that cost is already factored in.

Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn't count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action

The subordinate actions themselves still do everything they normally do, unless modified or constrained by the activity, but the activity itself is not the same as the subordinate actions.

Swipe may use a Strike subordinate action, which functions for all intents and purposes like a Strike, except where Swipe modifies it, but it does not count as a Strike for anything that is looking for you taking the Strike action, like Haste quickened actions or previous/next action stuff because that just finds the activity as a whole.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

You can't use Drink of my foes with double slice. Drink of my foes is a single weapon icon not somthing desigened to work with two weapons.

Liberty's Edge

Elric200 wrote:
You can't use Drink of my foes with double slice. Drink of my foes is a single weapon icon not somthing desigened to work with two weapons.

Twin Stars.

But anyway, last action to me covers the activity and not its subordinate actions.

1 to 50 of 80 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Barrow's Edge - Drink of my Foes, How do you / your table rule it? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.