Q on Alchemical Formula for Ammunition


Rules Discussion


I am seeking clarification on the above and it's application to play with the created item from the formula. So let's posit it as a practical application:
1. I am a gunslinger pistoliero, level 12.
2. I have alchem crafting feat and the formula to make "Exsanguinating Ammunition (greater)". I spend the time, pay the 80gp costs for reagents, and successfully craft the dose of ammo.
3. in play, I want to "use" the ammo. My assumption is the following on action costs and processes:
A - pay 1 action to ACTIVATE (manipulate) the ammo. I expend the alchemical ammo for Exsanguinate - greater.
B - then, pay 1 action to SHOOT a pistol at the target with the activated exsanguinating ammunition. I expend the shot, if I hit, then...
C - the round does it's normal damage PLUS the Exsanguinating part.

Is this correct? Or would I have had to actually activate Exsanguinating Ammo, then, then LOAD that ammo piece, then shoot?
Or am I missing something more fundamental?


Load (can be already loaded), activate, shoot.

As a gunslinger there's a feat to make free alchemical ammo every day, paying money for it isn't necessary if you take that.


Hmmm...true for level 1 formula's you get. Assume true if you buy higher. However, that still does not answer the true question on "USE" of the ammo. Hoping someone will pipe up with an answer to that.


I told you the process to use alchemical/magical ammo: (1) load, (2) activate, (3) fire. Depending on the specifics of your weapon and ammunition this can be variable actions.

E.g. arrows don't take actions to load, so if you just activate/strike it's two actions to attack with alchemical ammo.

If you use a reload 1 gun, it's one action to load (if you didn't start the turn with a loaded gun), 1 action to activate (as stated in the items activation block - someday there may be a free action or two action activation, but right now they're all one action as far as I know), then however many actions you want to use to attack. Can be a standard one action strike, or a two action metastrike granted by a feat or class feature.


So, sounds like I have to pre-load what alchemical shot I want in my guns ready to use. Thanks.


taechar wrote:
Is this correct? Or would I have had to actually activate Exsanguinating Ammo, then, then LOAD that ammo piece, then shoot?
While the order between load and activation typically isn't important unless a GM deems it so, as seen in
Gmcore p255 wrote:
For example, you could activate a beacon shot arrow by touching it with 1 action, then draw and shoot the arrow as part of a Strike as normal. For a beacon shot bolt, you could activate it, load it into a crossbow, then shoot it, or load it into the crossbow, then activate it, and then shoot it.

The important part is however as Xenocrat said, you need to spend 1 action to activate it before it has any additional effect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Q on Alchemical Formula for Ammunition All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.