Possession and body modification question


Rules Questions


I’m certain this has been answered before, but for the life of me I haven’t been able to track it down. Do features that allow a player to modify their body persist after a possession / mind swap / magic jar spell ends?

I began wondering about this due to the Toxicant feature “Toxic Secretion”. The Toxicant can brew a potion which modifies their body and causes them to permanently excrete a poison, which they are immune to, with effects and dc based on the Alchemist’s level and feature selections at the time of ingestion.

The second feature is the Eternal Potion discovery, which makes a potion effect permanent for an alchemist that consumes it. Since alchemists don’t have actual spellcasting, but instead have their features occur through alchemy affecting their body and/or creating spell effect, is the potion effect attached to the alchemist’s soul or their physical body at time of potion consumption?

My third question would be about a Cyclopian Seer using flash of insight while in another creature’s body while drinking Strange Fluids in order to trigger the extraordinary outcomes (100 on the d100).

When looking up other discussions about Possession and buffs, a lot of people mention physical spells/effect staying with the body and mental spells/effects staying with the soul/mind, but there weren’t any references given.

My primary question is whether or not there is a rule/faq for features that can be used to permanently modify the body followed by the origin feature being lost.

If not, my next question would be how the above should be ruled based on normal rules.

Liberty's Edge

Not a RAW reply (I don't think there is one), but an Alchemist infusions, abilities, and talents are powered up by the Alchemist aura. I, as a GM, would say that the ability timer (if they have one) starts clicking as soon as the Alchemist's soul leaves the possesses body, If the ability doesn't have a timer it simply ceases to function for the possessed body.

Note that most abilities and co have a variant of "If an alchemist" in their description text. So they don't work when the target isn't an Alchemist anymore.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Not a RAW reply (I don't think there is one), but an Alchemist infusions, abilities, and talents are powered up by the Alchemist aura. I, as a GM, would say that the ability timer (if they have one) starts clicking as soon as the Alchemist's soul leaves the possesses body, If the ability doesn't have a timer it simply ceases to function for the possessed body.

Note that most abilities and co have a variant of "If an alchemist" in their description text. So they don't work when the target isn't an Alchemist anymore.

In pathfinder does targeting conditions and effect package remain one constant unit? I know that they are considered separate in 5e (why polymorph snail + power word kill can kill creatures with over 100 hp) but I am unfamiliar here. If a creature went from humanoid to monstrous humanoid or something else temporarily due to a class or racial feature, for example, would that end/negate an ongoing charm or dominate person spell, or would the spell persist for its normal duration because the target was valid when the spell was originally cast?

Liberty's Edge

monochromaticPrism wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

Not a RAW reply (I don't think there is one), but an Alchemist infusions, abilities, and talents are powered up by the Alchemist aura. I, as a GM, would say that the ability timer (if they have one) starts clicking as soon as the Alchemist's soul leaves the possesses body, If the ability doesn't have a timer it simply ceases to function for the possessed body.

Note that most abilities and co have a variant of "If an alchemist" in their description text. So they don't work when the target isn't an Alchemist anymore.

In pathfinder does targeting conditions and effect package remain one constant unit? I know that they are considered separate in 5e (why polymorph snail + power word kill can kill creatures with over 100 hp) but I am unfamiliar here. If a creature went from humanoid to monstrous humanoid or something else temporarily due to a class or racial feature, for example, would that end/negate an ongoing charm or dominate person spell, or would the spell persist for its normal duration because the target was valid when the spell was originally cast?

When something targets a specific kind of target, and the target changes after the effect is applied, the target isn't checked again, so normally changing the nature of the target (difficult, polymorph spells don't change the nature of targets, a PC turned into a snail will still have his original hp and HD) don't negate them.

The situation of an alchemist possessing another person's body is very particular.

Magic Jar has been updated by possession, which clearly says that "your life force occupies the host body" and that the " The host’s soul is imprisoned with you". Plus: ". The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities."
Considering all that, the host body isn't the alchemist's body and doesn't benefit from the alchemist's discoveries.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Possession and body modification question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.