
Ohnomytoast! |

Forced Alliance (Sp): As a standard action, you can alter a living creature’s mind, causing it to see you as a friend and ally. If the creature is the same creature type as you, this power requires you to expend 1 point of mental focus; if it’s is not, you must expend 2 points instead. The creature can attempt a Will save to negate this effect. If it fails the saving throw, the creature treats you as an ally and doesn’t attempt to harm you (although your allies are not protected). You can call on the creature to aid you directly, but while doing so the creature can attempt a new Will save at the end of each round to end the effect. This effect otherwise lasts 1 round per occultist level you possess. This is a mind-affecting charm effect. You must be at least 5th level to select this focus power.
I can't see a range on this ability, so how does it target things? Does it require touching the target? Is there even a limit on its range?
I recall there being some some rules for abilities like "unless stated otherwise using an ability is a standard action" but i cant remember where. Is there anything that covers this too?

![]() |

Quote:Forced Alliance (Sp): As a standard action, you can alter a living creature’s mind, causing it to see you as a friend and ally. If the creature is the same creature type as you, this power requires you to expend 1 point of mental focus; if it’s is not, you must expend 2 points instead. The creature can attempt a Will save to negate this effect. If it fails the saving throw, the creature treats you as an ally and doesn’t attempt to harm you (although your allies are not protected). You can call on the creature to aid you directly, but while doing so the creature can attempt a new Will save at the end of each round to end the effect. This effect otherwise lasts 1 round per occultist level you possess. This is a mind-affecting charm effect. You must be at least 5th level to select this focus power.I can't see a range on this ability, so how does it target things? Does it require touching the target? Is there even a limit on its range?
I recall there being some some rules for abilities like "unless stated otherwise using an ability is a standard action" but i cant remember where. Is there anything that covers this too?
It says that it is a standard action right at the start of the ability.
Use extraordinary abilityForced Alliance Without an errata the range is Sight. It is a Spell Like ability so it requires Line of Effect.
I would limit it to 30', but that would be an home rule.
...
Use spell-like ability
Use supernatural ability
Spell-Like Abilities (Sp): Using a spell-like ability works like casting a spell in that it requires concentration and provokes attacks of opportunity. Spell-like abilities can be disrupted. If your concentration is broken, the attempt to use the ability fails, but the attempt counts as if you had used the ability. The casting time of a spell-like ability is 1 standard action, unless the ability description
notes otherwise.
Supernatural Abilities (Su): Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability’s description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Extraordinary Abilities (Ex): Using an extraordinary ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Forced Alliance: Without an errata, it has unlimited range, but it requires a Line of Effect as it is a Spell-Like effect.
Technically it isn't a targeted effect, so it wouldn't require Line of Sight.I would rule that it is a targeted effect, so you need to see the target, and limit the range to 30', like the other effects of the Enchantement Implements, but those are home rules.

Ohnomytoast! |

I wasn't doubting it was a standard action Diego. I was referencing how abilities that dont specify rules often are using universal rules such as when an ability doesnt say what action it is it generally defaults to a standard action - and therefore wondering if there were similar rules for range and targeting.
Quote:Forced Alliance Without an errata the range is Sight. It is a Spell Like ability so it requires Line of Effect.
Where is this quote you referenced from? An faq? A dev response?
Forced Alliance: Without an errata, it has unlimited range, but it requires a Line of Effect as it is a Spell-Like effect.
Technically it isn't a targeted effect, so it wouldn't require Line of Sight.
Where does it say you need line of effect for abilities? Dont plenty work without having line of effect?

![]() |

I wasn't doubting it was a standard action Diego. I was referencing how abilities that dont specify rules often are using universal rules such as when an ability doesnt say what action it is it generally defaults to a standard action - and therefore wondering if there were similar rules for range and targeting.
Diego Rossi wrote:Where is this quote you referenced from? An faq? A dev response?Quote:Forced Alliance Without an errata the range is Sight. It is a Spell Like ability so it requires Line of Effect.
What quote? There is no errata, so nothing to quote. It is limited to line of effect because it is an SP ability.
Diego Rossi wrote:Where does it say you need line of effect for abilities? Dont plenty work without having line of effect?Forced Alliance: Without an errata, it has unlimited range, but it requires a Line of Effect as it is a Spell-Like effect.
Technically it isn't a targeted effect, so it wouldn't require Line of Sight.
It is SP, i.e. Spell Like. Spell Like abilities work like spells. spells require line of effect unless they specifically say otherwise.
Spell-Like Abilities (Sp): Spell-like abilities, as the name implies, are magical abilities that are very much like spells. Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). Spell-like abilities can be dispelled, but they cannot be counterspelled or used to counterspell.

Ohnomytoast! |

What quote? There is no errata, so nothing to quote. It is limited to line of effect because it is an SP ability.
I think you mucked up your formatting in your previous reply then because that was in a quote box.
It is SP, i.e. Spell Like. Spell Like abilities work like spells. spells require line of effect unless they specifically say otherwise.
Yes Diego, i know its a spell like ability. I am asking if you can quote where it says spell like abilities and spells must have line of effect. Im not saying you're wrong, i just want to see the rules.

Ohnomytoast! |

"You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast." -Somewhere in the magic section, dont have the book on me to check page.
Found it myself. Nice.
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

![]() |

Diego Rossi wrote:
What quote? There is no errata, so nothing to quote. It is limited to line of effect because it is an SP ability.I think you mucked up your formatting in your previous reply then because that was in a quote box.
Ah, that is why it disappeared the first time I wrote it. It was in the wrong part of the post.
Sorry, bad formatting.
Diego Rossi wrote:Yes Diego, i know its a spell like ability. I am asking if you can quote where it says spell like abilities and spells must have line of effect. Im not saying you're wrong, i just want to see the rules.
It is SP, i.e. Spell Like. Spell Like abilities work like spells. spells require line of effect unless they specifically say otherwise.
As you have found, the Magic section, starting on page 206 of the CRB.