Call and Response + Inspire Heroics


Rules Discussion

Lantern Lodge

Got a question.

If you cast Inspire Courage with Inspire Heroics, it's a metamagic + composition spell. It produces an "effect" (hopefully +2 or +3 due to the Inspire Heroics).

If you then use an action to invoke Call and Response, and assuming one of your allies does the response, since the "effect" is extended by one additional round, will that extend the effect of the metamagic'd Inspire Courage - i.e. the +2 or +3?

A nice bonus is that since you can re-do the Inspire Heroics until you either get a success or critically fail, you can wait on the Call and Response action to see if you succeed on the Inspire Heroics.

So, you'd be spending 1 focus point, one of your actions, and one of an ally's actions, to get two rounds of Inspire Heroics boost.

It sounds to me like it would work, but I thought I check to see if others thought the same.

Also, if it does work, then maybe others will appreciate finding a good tip on the boards!

And if it doesn't for some reason, I'll scuttle back under my rock...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

This doesn't work. Call and Response requires your next action to be the cantrip (Inspire Courage, here). Inspire Heroics has the same requirement.

So, if you use Call and Response, then Inspire Heroics, then Inspire Courage the Call and Response does nothing, because your next action was the Inspire Heroics focus spell, not the Inspire Courage cantrip.

It does not matter that the action type of Inspire Heroics is Free. This is the same reason that Inspire Heroics and Lingering Performance can't be used together.

Lantern Lodge

HammerJack wrote:

This doesn't work. Call and Response requires your next action to be the cantrip (Inspire Courage, here). Inspire Heroics has the same requirement.

So, if you use Call and Response, then Inspire Heroics, then Inspire Courage the Call and Response does nothing, because your next action was the Inspire Heroics focus spell, not the Inspire Courage cantrip.

It does not matter that the action type of Inspire Heroics is Free. This is the same reason that Inspire Heroics and Lingering Performance can't be used together.

You're right. I misread Call and Response... i thought you make the Call right after you cast the spell. Bummer...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Call and Response + Inspire Heroics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.