
Justin Fritz 56 |
As the title states, when can you pull spell foci and when do you need to pull them.
I know in the book it states:
Focus
Source Core Rulebook pg. 303
A focus is an object that funnels the magical energy of the spell. The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to either have a free hand to retrieve the focus listed in the spell or already be holding the focus in your hand. As part of Casting the Spell, you retrieve the focus (if necessary), manipulate it, and can stow it again if you so choose.
Foci tend to be expensive, and you need to acquire them in advance to Cast the Spell.
This sounds like they will be a required component for only certain spells but of the spells I have looked at none specifically state they require a focus. So is this something you can pull on every spell, do you need one for every spell, does the focus do anything special for the spell, is there an advantage to having one in general?

HammerJack |

The answer will be under your class spellcasting feature, like this example for the cleric:
"Your deity bestows on you the power to cast divine spells. You can cast divine spells using the Cast a Spell activity, and you can supply material, somatic, and verbal components when casting spells (see Casting Spells on page 302). Because you’re a cleric, you can usually hold a divine focus (such as a religious symbol) for spells requiring material components instead of needing to use a spell component pouch."

Aratorin |

The answer will be under your class spellcasting feature, like this example for the cleric:
"Your deity bestows on you the power to cast divine spells. You can cast divine spells using the Cast a Spell activity, and you can supply material, somatic, and verbal components when casting spells (see Casting Spells on page 302). Because you’re a cleric, you can usually hold a divine focus (such as a religious symbol) for spells requiring material components instead of needing to use a spell component pouch."
There are two different kinds of Focus. The one you quoted is the generic Focus that can be used for component substitution.
The one Justin asked about is the specific Focus component. Alarm would be a good example. It requires a 3gp silver bell focus, or Plane Shift which requires a magic tuning fork created from planar material.

Justin Fritz 56 |
I guess this shows that I had no idea what I was asking because both are what I needed. So a general focus can be used for any spell, and while I did not initially see a spell from my spell list that needed one, I was looking at the cleric, when a spell requires a specific focus it will state that focus.
So I guess my question of when can they be pulled can now be more directed.
If I am using a general focus, can I only pull it as part of the cast, in the case of cleric or druid, of the spell with a material component or can I pull it with any spell even though I am not using it as a substitution for a component?

HammerJack |

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking here.
So you cast a spell with verbal and somatic components. What are you trying to do with pulling a focus out?
The only utility I could think of would be trying to draw a weapon or shield with Emblazoned Armament for free, and theven answer would be "no", in that case.

Justin Fritz 56 |
Over all trying to understand how they work. Emblazoned Armament is what started me down this road, but over all I was not fully understanding the point of foci in PF2e. I play primarily SF, and I did not play PF1. I had to watch a video to fully understand the difference between prepared and spontaneous casters. So, just trying to understand as much about casters as I can, since most parties I am in need one. Rogues are a lot easier.
I expect I will have more less than understandable questions, rules clarification, and wtf's in the near future.
Thank you for your help, and if you have any other things about spell foci that I may not have known to ask but may need to know please let me know.