spiked pit trap and criticals resulting


Rules Questions


On our latest delve, a paladin member of the group was unfortunate enough to fall in to a rather nasty pit trap. The GM rolled a 20 on the melee attack (critical was confirmed) and he was hit by 3 spikes. The rules state that spikes are treated as daggers, does this mean all three hits should be x2 damage? We presume this is the intention and thus poor noble paladin is shaking hands with Pharasma.

Does this seem like a correct interpretation of the rules as written? He took over 28 damage from fall and spikes combined, seems somewhat lethal for a CR2 trap although I suppose the critical hit is a large slice of bad luck.

Scarab Sages

Rolling for the number of spikes should determine the number of attack rolls. Thus your GM would need to crit 3 times, not just once.

Sczarni

Usually pits require a Reflex save to avoid. There is no attack roll, or the possibility of a critical hit.

Dark Archive

It sounds like this is a plain old pit trap, and not the spell. I agree with Raisse, in that each spike would have to be a separate attack roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / spiked pit trap and criticals resulting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions