Spells from Dwarves of Golarion


Pathfinder Society

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Can a Paladin of Iomedae cast Bloodsworn Retribution from Dwarves of Golarion? I'm hung up on the following introductory paragraph:

The brood of Torag wrote:

Though dwarves honor Torag as the father and creator of all things, they pay equal homage to his family (with the exception of Droskar, whom most surface dwarves shun). Below are spells granted by each of these deities to the followers of Torag and his relatives.

In order to prepare any of these spells, the caster must spend an hour performing a ritual in which he beseeches Torag (or a member of his family) for the aid of one of his divine family members. For 24 hours after the ritual, the caster may prepare spells of the requested deity. The caster may only attune himself to one additional deity at a time.

When Inner Sea Gods was released, Mike Brock had ruled that anybody could cast those spells, regardless of who they worshipped. But the text I quoted seems more restrictive.

For years I've cast these spells and advocated for their general use (my Warpriest of Gorum regularly buffed with Mighty Strength), but rereading this passage now I'm not so sure.

The player I have at my table is advocating that anybody can beseech Dranngvit for access to this spell while still worshipping Iomedae, and I'm 50/50 on it.

3/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This question came up for me recently too. An info dump of some applicable rules:

  • #1: Additional Resources, Advanced Race Guide, "...only available for characters of the associated race..."
  • #2: Additional Resources, Dwarves of Golarion, "Spells: ancestral communion, ancestral gift, bloodsworn retribution, dwarven veil, invigorating repose, mighty strength, oath of justice, peacemaker's parley, planned assault, rune of durability, rune of warding, see through stone, summon ancestral guardian, tactical formation, watchful eye;"
  • #3: Additional Resources, Inner Sea Gods, "Spells: all spells on pages 228–245 are legal except..."
  • #4: Campaign Clarifications, Inner Sea Gods, No comments on spells and gods.
  • #5: Dwarves of Golarion, Nefreet quoted above.
  • #6: Inner Sea Gods, "...Despite this, all the spells in this chapter are available to members of other faiths..."

I always thought that those spells were racial spells, but racial spells appears to be largely an Advanced Race Guide thing.

Mike Brock's post kept to the wording of the Inner Sea Gods spell section.

Taking a very strict reading of the text from Dwarves of Golarion, I believe that those spells are only available to "the followers of Torag and his relatives". I read that the following section on attuning to an additional god only applies if you are already a follower of Torag or his relatives.

Scarab Sages 4/5

I utilize Watchful Eye, Mighty Strength, or Invigorating Repose on my Cleric of Torag. I've always stuck to the restriction of having access to only one of them per day. Also, GMs have sometimes ruled that if I haven't attuned to get Invigorating Repose for the day, I need to UMD a scroll, as it's not on my list otherwise. Though it's been more of a table variation on that one, and just as many have let me use the scroll.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Spells from Dwarves of Golarion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society