Athletics actions require a "free hand"?


Rules Discussion


If taken literally, a standard wolf or dog can't grapple, a Nightmare can't use its hooves to shove, and an animated broom can't trip a target.

Intentional?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So don't take it literally. The "free hand" language is intended for humanoid combattants with 2 hands. Non-humanoid combattants should still be able to attempt those actions with a free paw, muzzle or pseudopod.


Wheldrake wrote:
So don't take it literally. The "free hand" language is intended for humanoid combattants with 2 hands. Non-humanoid combattants should still be able to attempt those actions with a free paw, muzzle or pseudopod.

I have a mind not to, but I'm wondering if it was intentional for some sort of balance reason and how it will work out in official contexts like Society play.

For example, Dire Wolves can grab but standard wolves only knockdown. It's not clear if the "free hand" wording is intentional to limit those athletic actions by critters like the standard wolf, or if it's an oversight that will be ignored.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Midnight Anarch wrote:
Wheldrake wrote:
So don't take it literally. The "free hand" language is intended for humanoid combattants with 2 hands. Non-humanoid combattants should still be able to attempt those actions with a free paw, muzzle or pseudopod.

I have a mind not to, but I'm wondering if it was intentional for some sort of balance reason and how it will work out in official contexts like Society play.

For example, Dire Wolves can grab but standard wolves only knockdown. It's not clear if the "free hand" wording is intentional to limit those athletic actions by critters like the standard wolf, or if it's an oversight that will be ignored.

Grab and Knockdown are both abilities to -enhance- combat maneuvers, rather than enabling them in the first place, so I don't think being able to use the maneuvers without these abilities changes things.


This is like asking if centaurs can climb just the same as a player character. The rules are meant for humanoids. Commonsense applies.


Relevant:
https://youtu.be/Xk7PKAZIopw

Animals don't need yo free hands, punk. XD


Captain Morgan wrote:
This is like asking if centaurs can climb just the same as a player character. The rules are meant for humanoids. Commonsense applies.

Well duh, centaurs have hands. :-P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Athletics actions require a "free hand"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.