Bonus Move Actions and 'Full-Round Actions'


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello everybody.

I'm trying to find a ruling for this:
> Grand Magister Barry uses Mythic Haste to gain another move action.
> The wily mage uses his extra action next turn to move into and ideal position to drop a summoning spell.
> Barry now tries to cast the spell, and the giant ruler of RAW comes down and smacks the back of his wizardly hands...

Core Rules wrote:
A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.

Another example:

> Targ the Gentleman, a mighty bloodrager hailing from oddly-civilized lands, uses Amazing Initiative to gain an extra standard action as a free action.
> Targ uses this action as a move action to move up to his foe.
> "Prepare yourself, my good man, for imminent fisticuffs!" he bellows, spit droplets spraying out wildly.
> "The Sea Banshee mocks you!" laughs the pirate cad. "You have wasted your mythic strength this day!"

Targ can't full-attack, even after using mythic power to gain an additional action to get close enough.
[A full-round action] can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action

Am I reading this a bit too literally, or does this one line actually mess up a multitude of items and abilities?
Should I put more weight on the word 'Thus' in that rules text and consider it as a simple 'so by extension of this' statement?


You are reading too literally. It's a case of specific beats general as the above description is a normal round which contains no extra actions.


Agreed, specific beats general.

The mythic abilities mentioned above grant extra actions beyond what can normally be done.


Would you say this would extend to a Pathfinder Chronicler using its Inspire Action ability on a fighter in the party?

Inspire Action wrote:

Inspire Action (Su)

As a special use of bardic music, a 6th-level Pathfinder chronicler can exhort any one ally within hearing to a sudden surge of action, allowing her ally to immediately take an extra move action. This does not count against the ally’s number of actions on his own turn.

At 9th level, she can enable an ally to immediately take a standard action instead.

Starfinder also uses similar wording for full-round actions (it calls them 'full actions'):

Starfinder Core Rulebook wrote:

FULL ACTIONS

A full action requires your entire turn to complete. If you take a
full action, you can’t take your usual standard, move, and swift
actions. The following actions are full actions.

In addition, its version of haste gives an extra move action similar to Pathfinder's mythic haste instead of giving an extra attack or +1 to attack, AC and reflex saving throws; it encounters the same concern.

Considering how important positioning is in that game, it would be nice to have some clarity about whether the wording of 'full-round actions' in general is intentionally-disrupting to such things.


Bump. I'd like a larger sample size of opinions on this. Do others agree with their assertions? Perhaps you have other opinions?


Specific beats general. you have extra actions, you can mix and match to taste - don't overthink it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bonus Move Actions and 'Full-Round Actions' All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.