
![]() |

Hi all, I had a question regarding operative trick. as you need to declare it as a full round action, do you need to be able to see the target of the trick before the move as it needs to be declared prior to said move. I and my GM had a dispute regarding this as I figured it works like shot on the run you declare it and as long as you can see your target post move when the skill roll and attack are made it would be legal, he however figured it would be more like a charge where you have to be able to see the opponent to declare the action. Clarification on this would be great.
Thanks in advanced

![]() |

My read of trick attack is this.
Step one. You call out trick attack as a full round action.
Step two. you can move up to your full speed.
Step three. You make a attack on a foe.
Step four. Just before you make the attack you roll your trick attack skill.
Step five. you make the check making them flat footed to your attack or fail and move to...
Step six. Make your attack roll hit or miss damage all that jazz.
So using this ruling ( that's my opinion ) you are right you can move to attack anyone you know is there even if say they ran around a wall. You trick attack, move, attack, Make TA check, and than make your roll. Even if you move and finds out that foe jumped into a escape pod and is now on his way home you can still turn around and attack anyone I. Your range

Kalderaan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

If you look at this Operative Exploit (2nd Level), it tells me that you do NOT have to declare a target ahead of time, as mike roper stated above:
Uncanny Mobility (Ex)
When you make a trick attack, if you choose the target of
your attack before you move, your movement doesn’t provoke
attacks of opportunity from that target. When you use your
standard action to move, you can choose one creature; you
don’t provoke attacks of opportunity from that creature for
this movement.
Since this exploit gives benefit IF you choose your target before you move, that tells me you can move and THEN declare a target.
I had this happen in an adventure too. I did my move and discovered a hidden target right next to where I ran to! GM stated that I could not target him since I didn't see him at the start of my turn. I disagreed and shared this.

indyindyindigo |
So with uncanny mobility, if I’m moving out of a threatened square and I choose that enemy as my target...do I still provoke AoO when I move away?
“When you make a trick attack, if you choose the target of your attack before you move, your movement doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity from that target. When you use your standard action to move, you can choose one creature; you don’t provoke attacks of opportunity from that creature for this movement.”
I didn’t think I did but my GM said I had to roll my trick attack to see if he would be flat-footed or not FIRST and then move. To me, that doesn’t make sense. Someone help?

Kalderaan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So with uncanny mobility, if I’m moving out of a threatened square and I choose that enemy as my target...do I still provoke AoO when I move away?
“When you make a trick attack, if you choose the target of your attack before you move, your movement doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity from that target. When you use your standard action to move, you can choose one creature; you don’t provoke attacks of opportunity from that creature for this movement.”I didn’t think I did but my GM said I had to roll my trick attack to see if he would be flat-footed or not FIRST and then move. To me, that doesn’t make sense. Someone help?
Indy - The way I read Uncanny Mobility, you only have to declare the target of your trick attack. Once you do, you can ignore AoO from that target. It does not require a successful trick attack, just that they are declared as the target.
What you can't do is move, ignore the AoO and target someone/something else. If you did, the AoO would then be triggered.
Flat-footed is not a requirement of a successful Uncanny Mobility benefit of ignore AoO.