Pharasma, followers, and undead


General Discussion


So I stumbled across a question.

Page 346, under Magic and Spells, the iconic mystic - clearly a devotee of Pharasma - seems to be using the animate dead spell.

I mean, it could be the control undead spell (found on both the facing and same page) - though, given the way the shirren is drawing up her hand and at least one of the dead creatures seems to be standing up in response to said action, it kind of looks like she's raising them -, but, really, it doesn't matter: either way, it seems that a Pharasman is using undead.

I mean, in her picture on page 82 (Classes), 333 (Magic and Spells), she's clearly got a sigil of Pharasma floating above her head (and it's unclear if it's there or not on 346 - it could just be out of frame).

So, that leads to a question: has Pharasma revised her stance on undead? Or is it simply her worshipers?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Bugs are weird man.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

They also list Eox as one of her major centers of Worship, despite her entry in the list of gods still explicitly calling out her hatred of the undead. I've got no clue, man.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

According to page 489, her stance has not changed.Undead are abominations to be destroyed, as are those who raise them.

I can see her religion being a proscribed cult on Eox with some fringe appeal. As for the bug... yeah, if it is a Pharasmin, it makes 0 sense to raise undead.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Raise now, repent later.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Some thoughts:
1) The sigil is some sort of disguise or prop to aid in their disguise.
2) The text given to the artist to describe what type of picture they wanted was in error
3) A mistake got trough the editing process.
4) The artist who knows a lot about pathfinder was playing a joke to see if it got caught. And then forgot about it do to the fact they got busy with life and other stuff.

MDC


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

They're casting Control Undead, not Create so Pharasma should be alright with it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
captain yesterday wrote:
They're casting Control Undead, not Create so Pharasma should be alright with it.

This is correct. 90% of spell illustrations in Paizo products feature a spell that is on the preceding or following page. 10% are on the same page.

In this case Control Undead is on the preceding page, Animate Dead is much earlier. I don't think Pharasma would mind if you turned undead against your enemies, then destroyed them after.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:

So I stumbled across a question.

Page 346, under Magic and Spells, the iconic mystic - clearly a devotee of Pharasma - seems to be using the animate dead spell.

I mean, it could be the control undead spell (found on both the facing and same page) - though, given the way the shirren is drawing up her hand and at least one of the dead creatures seems to be standing up in response to said action, it kind of looks like she's raising them -, but, really, it doesn't matter: either way, it seems that a Pharasman is using undead.

I mean, in her picture on page 82 (Classes), 333 (Magic and Spells), she's clearly got a sigil of Pharasma floating above her head (and it's unclear if it's there or not on 346 - it could just be out of frame).

So, that leads to a question: has Pharasma revised her stance on undead? Or is it simply her worshipers?

Technical note: Keskodai is male.


Ah! Thanks! I hadn't found his entry. Apologies!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Here you go. No apology necessary. Not to me, anyway. Maybe to him. lol


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:
Ah! Thanks! I hadn't found his entry. Apologies!

You have been sentenced to listen to 101 dad jokes as penance for your transgression.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jokey the Unfunny Comedian wrote:
Tacticslion wrote:
Ah! Thanks! I hadn't found his entry. Apologies!
You have been sentenced to listen to 101 dad jokes as penance for your transgression.

He likes Dad jokes though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Xenocrat wrote:
captain yesterday wrote:
They're casting Control Undead, not Create so Pharasma should be alright with it.

This is correct. 90% of spell illustrations in Paizo products feature a spell that is on the preceding or following page. 10% are on the same page.

In this case Control Undead is on the preceding page, Animate Dead is much earlier. I don't think Pharasma would mind if you turned undead against your enemies, then destroyed them after.

IMHO, it can depend on how your GM interpenetrates Pharasma's will in the game. ie would a follower of Pharasma even take control undead vs spells to just destroy them. Would she even teach such a spell to her worshipers?

MDC


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Mark Carlson 255 wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
captain yesterday wrote:
They're casting Control Undead, not Create so Pharasma should be alright with it.

This is correct. 90% of spell illustrations in Paizo products feature a spell that is on the preceding or following page. 10% are on the same page.

In this case Control Undead is on the preceding page, Animate Dead is much earlier. I don't think Pharasma would mind if you turned undead against your enemies, then destroyed them after.

IMHO, it can depend on how your GM interpenetrates Pharasma's will in the game. ie would a follower of Pharasma even take control undead vs spells to just destroy them. Would she even teach such a spell to her worshipers?

MDC

Take it from me, you never want to interpenetrate any part of a god.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:
Ah! Thanks! I hadn't found his entry. Apologies!
Jokey the Unfunny Comedian wrote:
You have been sentenced to listen to 101 dad jokes as penance for your transgression.
The NPC wrote:
He likes Dad jokes though.

I... I do...

Mark Carlson 255 wrote:
IMHO, it can depend on how your GM interpenetrates Pharasma's will in the game.

I feel like this is leading up to a "dad" joke...

Rock Me Asmodeus wrote:
Take it from me, you never want to interpenetrate any part of a god.

... oh! There it is!

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Starfinder General Discussion / Pharasma, followers, and undead All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.