Question Regarding Mogmurch - Firesolver


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I recently took a card Power Feat on Mogmurch - Firesolver that we weren't able to agree on how to play.

Here is the wording:

"Gain the Divine Skill equal to your craft; when you make a divine check, discard the top card of your deck or recharge a blessing."

So, it boils down to 1 of 2 ways to play it.

Option 1:

Mogmurch has the Divine skill outright and can play Divine Spells and recharge them. When making the check to recharge he would have to discard from the top of his deck or recharge a blessing.

Option 2:

Mogmurch has the Divine skill ONLY when making a Divine check. This would give him an extra check to gain boons and defeat monsters, but would not allow him to play Divine Spells AND recharge them. When the spells verbage would check to see if you have a Divine Skill, he would not have it at that time as the check to recharge comes after the check for the skill.

If someone could help us with this distinction I would greatly appreciate it.


IMHO

It doesn't say "when yadayada, you gain the divine skill".
It says "Gain the Divine Skill equal to your craft", i. e. you have the skill, all the time, period. So indeed you have it for purpose of all powers that say "if you have the divine skill". In particular, for recharging spells.

Actually it would have been clearer if written as two separate powers (since they actuallya re independent), but in order to get access to both with a single power feat, the ";" was better.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Answer is neither of those options. You gain the Divine skill outright in all situations. When you make ANY Divine check (recharging spells, acquiring blessings, etc), you need to either discard the top card of your deck or recharge a blessing.

Frecois has the correct reasoning. Treat the semicolon as if it is a period. The two sides are soarste but related sentences.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I just noticed phone autocorrect hates me after it's too late to edit the post. That last sentence should be "The two sides are separate but related sentences"


Frencois wrote:

IMHO

It doesn't say "when yadayada, you gain the divine skill".
It says "Gain the Divine Skill equal to your craft", i. e. you have the skill, all the time, period. So indeed you have it for purpose of all powers that say "if you have the divine skill". In particular, for recharging spells.

Actually it would have been clearer if written as two separate powers (since they actuallya re independent), but in order to get access to both with a single power feat, the ";" was better.

I was thinking something along these lines as well. Is there any documentation anywhere that would support this argument?

Essentially I'm curious if Paizo has put out a specific way that skills are gained. I know I looked, but I didn't see anything.

Really appreciate the feedback from both you and skizzerz


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Documentation? Back of the rulebook, specifically Cards Do What They Say and Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say.

The card says you gain the Divine skill equal to your Craft skill, so you do. It does not say that you only gain it in specific instances, so you gain it in general. Otherwise, the power would be worded something like "When you make a Divine check, gain the Divine skill equal to your Craft skill and you must discard the top card of your deck or recharge a blessing." -- in other words, it would say that it only applies to divine checks


As skizzerz says: if a card says exactly what is needed (in this case: gain that skill), then don't look for a rule. There may not be one since it is not needed.
Cards do what they say. Don't question it (IMHO). That will help your understanding actually.


+1 to being puzzled by the request for documentation for understanding a power as straightforward as "Gain the Divine skill".

We've had other role powers that grant a skill using this language (as far back as Harsk in RotR). In every case, the character just gains the skill. The same as if they always had it.

When the character has a more limited use of a skill, the language is always different from simply "You gain the x skill", and lays out the limits of the character's use of the skill. For example:

Fighter Class Deck: Flenta wrote:
For your combat check that has the Attack trait, you may use the skill Arcane: Intelligence +2.
Alchemist Class Deck: Mother Myrtle wrote:
You may use your Wisdom skill for your Arcane (□ or Divine) check.

Flenta doesn't have the Arcane skill, except when making a combat check which has the Attack trait. Mother Myrtle never has the Arcane or Divine skill, at all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question Regarding Mogmurch - Firesolver All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion