
Brandt Welles |

I've got a campaign coming up with a Summoner in the group and I've never played with one before, so I'd like to get a few rules sorted out before we hit the table. Here's the scenario:
Summoner has her Eidolon summoned during a fight. An enemy spell caster uses Dismissal or Banishment on the Eidolon to send it back to its home plane. Can the Summoner then use Maker's Call to bring the Eidolon back without paying the hefty 1 minute downtime trying to bring him back during combat?
My concern is that Maker's Call functions as Dimension Door, which, as far as I know, cannot be used to travel between planes. So, if the Eidolon is banished to its home plane, it cannot be summoned back to the Summoner's side using Maker's Call.
Alternatively, if the Summoner attempted to switch places with the Eidolon while it remains in its home plane using Transposition how would the range restrictions play out on the Eidolon. For example, if an Eidolon is more than 10,000 feet, it's instantly banished. If they Summoner swapped places with the Eidolon while it was in another plane, would it instantly be banished because I assume another plane counts as more than 10,000 feet away?
And finally, Summoner's gain the ability to use the Summon Monster spells as a spell-like ability. The ability says it only works when the Eidolon is not summoned and no other Summon Monster spells are active, but can she use that Summon Monster spell-like ability AND cast the actual spell(s) to have both active at once?
Thanks in advance!

Derklord |

"If the eidolon is out of range, the ability is wasted." Other planes are not within a few hundred feet so using Maker's Call (with or without Transposition) will do nothing.
The Summon Eidolon spell helps in these situations, though.
On a side note, the Unfetter spell allows the Eidolon to far away from the Summoner, even on another plane.
And finally, Summoner's gain the ability to use the Summon Monster spells as a spell-like ability. The ability says it only works when the Eidolon is not summoned and no other Summon Monster spells are active, but can she use that Summon Monster spell-like ability AND cast the actual spell(s) to have both active at once?
Yes, both the SLA and the Eidolon are 100% independent from regular SM spells. Of course, the spells take the regular 1 round to cast, and the summoned creature(s) only last(s) 1 round per caster level.
Pure RAW, it's possible to use the SLA and summon the Eidolon with the regular ritual afterwards, but that's an oversight and the GM (that's you I take it) should be disallow it if the player abuses it. In that case, I'd suggest an exception for using the Summon Eidolon spell with an active SLA.
Word of cauting regarding Eidolon rules because this part is often misunderstood: The limit on natural attacks includes the Eidolon's starting evolutions gained from the base form, and limits what evolutions can be taken, not the actual natural attacks made later on. So a level 8 quadruped Eidolon can not have the Claws evolution twice (no "I only use the claws and not the bite"), but it is allowed to make 5 natural attacks under the effects of Haste.

Brandt Welles |

Thanks for the info! Really appreciated.
Pure RAW, it's possible to use the SLA and summon the Eidolon with the regular ritual afterwards, but that's an oversight and the GM (that's you I take it) should be disallow it if the player abuses it. In that case, I'd suggest an exception for using the Summon Eidolon spell with an active SLA.
As in you mean they can use the Summon Monster ability and THEN use their class ability to summon their Eidolon? Because from what I've understood from the rules is that they can only have one active at a time and when they activate the other, the first one ends.
Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the summoner uses to call his eidolon. As a result, he can only use this ability when his eidolon is not summoned.
My interpretation of that is that if the Eidolon is summoned while a creature from their Summon Monster ability is present, it disappears and is replaced by the Eidolon.
Word of cauting regarding Eidolon rules because this part is often misunderstood: The limit on natural attacks includes the Eidolon's starting evolutions gained from the base form, and limits what evolutions can be taken, not the actual natural attacks made later on. So a level 8 quadruped Eidolon can not have the Claws evolution twice (no "I only use the claws and not the bite"), but it is allowed to make 5 natural attacks under the effects of Haste.
Unfortunately, you've completely lost me here, haha. I'm going to try and break it down to see if I understand.
So, right now, I believe my Summoner is using a level 10 Quadruped Eidolon. At level 10, it has a max attack of five. Meaning, that it can only gain four additional attacks (since it starts with a bite)? I'm pretty sure he's just growing a ton of heads, so it'll only be bites.

Derklord |

from what I've understood from the rules is that they can only have one active at a time and when they activate the other, the first one ends.
That's (presumably) the intention, but the problem is that such text is missing from the Eidolon's summoning ritual. The SLA text says you can't use it when the Eidolon is active, but the Eidolon text does not say that you can't use it when the SLA is active. So RAW, use SLA -> call Eidolon for 1 minute -> enter fight with both works (because of the 1minute/level duration of the SLA).
So, right now, I believe my Summoner is using a level 10 Quadruped Eidolon. At level 10, it has a max attack of five. Meaning, that it can only gain four additional attacks (since it starts with a bite)?
Exactly - the player can only select evolutions that add no more than 4 natural attacks.
I'm pretty sure he's just growing a ton of heads, so it'll only be bites.
RAW, you can't select Bite more than once because it doesn't say so (unless you interpret the text for the Head evolution to make an exception). But one of the official example Eidolons is a Hydra with multiple bites, so feel free to allow it.