[WotR] Cornering (or not) a villain when he moves you


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The villain Khorramzadeh has a Before you act that, if you fail, you are moved to a random location. If the other locations have already been temporarily closed, and you end up at one of those closed locations through this power, then defeat the villain, does he escape to the location you originally encountered him at? It's not closed, because you can't close the villain's location, but defeating the villain closes his location, which I think means wherever you are at when you defeat him. So does he close the location that you are now at permanently, even though it's temporarily closed already?

Something else that I haven't thought of or missed?


A relevant Vic quote is:

Vic wrote:
"Where the encounter is" is never relevant—no cards or rules ask about it. The things that may be relevant are where the encountering character is, and where the encountered card is (if it's even in a location), and those two things need not be the same.

On the basis of this, it seems that when the BYA power moves you, your encounter continues, with Khorramzadeh at the original location, and you at your new location. The powers at your new location can affect the encounter. And the FAQ tells us that a character at your new location can take one of the checks.

If you defeat the villain, I believe the villain's location closes. The rules specify closing the villain's location, not the character's.

I was momentarily confused by this FAQ.

FAQ wrote:
Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, under Resolve the Encounter, add the following sentence: "If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after that encounter do not happen."

But I'm thinking resolving the villain encounter is not something that happens after the encounter, so it doesn't apply.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You close the villain's location, not your location. The villain's location is the location whose deck you encountered him from, where your character is located is irrelevant to that determination.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

skizzerz wrote:
You close the villain's location, not your location. The villain's location is the location whose deck you encountered him from, where your character is located is irrelevant to that determination.

Correct.

elcoderdude wrote:

I was momentarily confused by this FAQ.

FAQ wrote:
Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, under Resolve the Encounter, add the following sentence: "If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after that encounter do not happen."
But I'm thinking resolving the villain encounter is not something that happens after the encounter, so it doesn't apply.

Right—resolving the encounter is part of the encounter.


Vic Wertz wrote:
skizzerz wrote:
You close the villain's location, not your location. The villain's location is the location whose deck you encountered him from, where your character is located is irrelevant to that determination.

Correct.

elcoderdude wrote:

I was momentarily confused by this FAQ.

FAQ wrote:
Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, under Resolve the Encounter, add the following sentence: "If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after that encounter do not happen."
But I'm thinking resolving the villain encounter is not something that happens after the encounter, so it doesn't apply.
Right—resolving the encounter is part of the encounter.

Awesome! Thanks for the help, everyone!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / [WotR] Cornering (or not) a villain when he moves you All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion