Vault of Pride power timing


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, this question is a little late to the party, but up until now the VoP's power seemed pretty unambiguous to me. It says (to the effect of):

"When you succeed at a check, recharge a card"

When it comes to boons, I've always taken that to mean:

1) I succeed the check to acquire
2) I put the boon in my hand
3) I can now recharge newly acquired boon for VoP's power

Now, RotR AD5 is out for Obsidian's app, and their implementation is:

1) I succeed the check to acquire
2) Recharge a card from my hand
3) *Only then* do I get to put the new card in my hand
4) (incidentally, I haven't tried to acquire a boon while with an empty hand - this could potentially leave me with 1 card in hand (I have no cards to recharge, THEN I get the new card), where in my own reading I would have no cards at all (I recharge the new/only card in my hand)

So, fellow Pathfinders, any thoughts? I can see nothing that justifies Obsidian's treatment; at best, I can see an argument that "put the acquired card in your hand" and "recharge a card" happen at the same time and you should be able to chose the order (but this seems to go against 'finish one thing before another' - putting a new card in my hand seems an integral part of the process of making a check to acquire - somewhere between 'when you encounter a boon' and 'after you acquire a boon' in terms of timing).

Grand Lodge

Well, honestly, the Obsidian implementation sounds correct and the way you played it not so much.

Rulebook pg 9 wrote:
After you attempt the check, deal with any effects that were triggered by the check. If any cards played while attempting a check include their own checks, resolve the current check in this step and the new checks in subsequent steps.

The power, "When you succeed at a check, recharge a card", gets activated after you attempt the check but before you resolve the encounter. You don't put the card into your hand until that point. If you look at page 9 of the current rulebook, it's spelled out there.

Paizo Employee Contributor

The app made me realize I'd been doing this wrong, as well. (I'd been doing it Longshot's way, too.)


Theryon Stormrune wrote:

Well, honestly, the Obsidian implementation sounds correct and the way you played it not so much.

Rulebook pg 9 wrote:
After you attempt the check, deal with any effects that were triggered by the check. If any cards played while attempting a check include their own checks, resolve the current check in this step and the new checks in subsequent steps.
The power, "When you succeed at a check, recharge a card", gets activated after you attempt the check but before you resolve the encounter. You don't put the card into your hand until that point. If you look at page 9 of the current rulebook, it's spelled out there.

Thanks, Theryon. That quote indeed seems to prove I've been doing it wrong.

Grand Lodge

We've been playing it the way it states in the rulebook but I can see where the assumption would be that you get card in your hand then you do that recharge.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

(The text is indeed "When you succeed at a check, recharge a card," but the correct title for the card is "Shimmering Veils of Pride.")

Imagine if the boon had consecutive checks to acquire—say, Strength 6 then Diplomacy 4. If you succeeded at the Strength check, it seems pretty obvious that you'd have to recharge a card and that it can't be the one you're encountering...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Vault of Pride power timing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion