Disguise to another creature type?


Rules Questions


The Disguise skill can be used to alter your appearance to that of another creature type. But what is the penalty?

Disguise Check Modifier
Minor details only +5
Disguised as different gender –2
Disguised as different race –2
Disguised as different age category –2
Disguised as different size -10

Another race would be another subtype (human into an elf or a dwarf)

So for another creature type the penalty should be -10 or -20?

Or maybe:

Another creature type with a humanoid shape -5
Another creature type with a roughly humanoid shape -10
Another creature type with a nonhumanoid shape -20
Another creature type with aberrant or amorphous shape -30

What do you think?


All modifiers accumulate, so whichever would apply would stack, so a young Human male disguised as an elderly Elven female would take take a -6 penalty.

Disguising as an ooze would take both the different race and the creature type modifiers.


I disagree, I think the disguise skill only lets you do racial changes within your type (human to elf or even giant), but nothing really weird. You can't disguise yourself as an ooze without magic, anymore than even with modern Hollywood-quality makeup and costumes you could disguise yourself convincingly as a dog or horse.


let me amend that.

You would get the different race, different gender, (oozes have none), nonhumanoid, amorphus and size modifiers, all stacking to your check modifier a minus 54 to 59 penalty on your check.


That table is not official, I made up. Is there nothing official about disguising as other creature type?

Plausible Pseudonym I understand your point but what happened, for example, when a young human female wants to disguise as a young Medusa (monstrous humanoid)? I don’t think it's impossible but it has to be more difficult than disguise as a young Elven female.


That's a fair point. I suppose if you could obtain some live snakes and train them not to bite your face I'd let you use disguise skill to look like a Medusa at a huge penalty.


What about when a young human male wants to disguise as a young male aasimar or tiefling?

You can use the disguise skill to look like a lizardfolk or a ratfolk or a tengu (all humanoids) but not to look like a tiefling or aasimar (outsiders)? What about undead like vampire or zombies?


I'd say you get the -2 different-race penalty (after all, you aren't the same race) plus whatever modifier the GM feels is appropriate for the new type&subtype (vs your old type&subtype). For aasimar, tieflings, ifrits, undines, sylphs, and oreads that may well be 0, or at least small (another -2), if you're a human or other "standard" humanoid race. Ditto vampires and zombies of your base race. Going from a living human to a vampire elf would get two modifiers.

But there are no official rules on this. It's all GM territory.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disguise to another creature type? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.