What kind of Action is Shifting Rage?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I am having a hard time determining what kind of action shifting rage is.
Here is the text:

When using rounds of her shifting rage, instead of the usual bonuses and penalties from rage, the mooncursed transforms into a Medium version of this animal’s form as if under the influence of beast shape I, treating her class level as her caster level whenever relevant. Other aspects of rage aside from the bonuses and penalties, such as the skill restrictions on skills and effects that require concentration, still apply during a shifting rage.

So the text does not state what kind of Action it is, so the base assumption would be Standard action. If that is the case then, does the round you use to shift in count as using a round rage or does the rage rounds start in the following round?

The first bold part I highlighted says "as if under the influence of beast shape 1". Casting Beast Shape 1 is a standard action. That could mean that shifting rage is a standard action, BUT it says as if under the influence, not as if casting beast shape 1 spell.

The other line I bolded says other aspects of rage still apply during shifting rage... does that mean it inherits the aspect of it being a Free action? Or does it just mean it inherits the other status effects such as Fatigued after rage is over?


I would definitely say it's still a free action, because edit only says it functions as if beast shape, not that it is beast shape. Thus, it keeps the free action.


Shifting rage is an alteration of rage, not a replacement, so everything that normal rage says that it doesn't specifically override still holds. So it's a free action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What kind of Action is Shifting Rage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.