Arcane Bond and Prepared Casters


Rules Questions


Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.


It might be a case by case basis vs a "one rule for everyone situation".
Do you have specific examples?


I thought you just get an extra spell slot of your highest level.


Wraithstrike: I have a lore spirit half-elf shaman who is considering eldritch heritage to get an arcane bond. The problem is I have no idea how this is supposed to play out per the rules. IMO, it makes sense to me that I can cast any spell on my list of a level I can cast once per day. As far as I know, there are no rules fully supporting this interpretation.

PP: you get an extra spell of any level you can cast that is in your spellbook or spells known. My problem is that shaman (clerics, druids, etc too) don't explicitly have "spells known" or a spellbook. They just have access to their whole list to prepare from each day.


I would start an FAQ asking a specific question. I don't think there is one.


Do you have any suggestions on how to go about that?

Silver Crusade

"Do Divine Casters gain anything from Arcane Bond?"


My ruling, in the absence of anything more concrete, would be to take the eccleseitheurge cleric's arcane bonded holy symbol as a model. But this is a GM extrapolation, not RAW.


Rysky wrote:
"Do Divine Casters gain anything from Arcane Bond?"

An arcane bond could be a familiar, which would be pretty clear-cut on how it works.

An arcane bonded item can be enchanted by the owner "as if the he had the required item creation feats", and if he meets the level requirements. The selected item could be a weapon, ring, staff, wand, or amulet (unlike the limitation on the Ecclesitheurge's holy symbol).

So, obviously there are some gains from the Arcane Bond.

The question in this case is limited to "how does the arcane bond item's ability to cast 1 spell per day from your spellbook or known spells work when the character is a divine caster with no spellbook or spells known but access to all spells from the class spell list?"


An interesting house rule that would actually expand Wizard-style Bonded Item(*) uses for spontaneous casters would be that Bonded Item spell casting requires a spell book, but you don't have to be of a class that normally has a spell book to use one in this way, if you somehow manage to get your hands on one, or make one yourself (the latter requiring Scribe Scroll if you don't have an explicit class feature that enables you to create a spell book). So an Arcane Sorcerer with a Bonded Item who managed to get hold of a spell book could use the Bonded Item to cast any spell in the spell book, as long as the spell is one that the Sorcerer could have chosen as a spell known.

(*)Note that other types of Bonded Item also exist, such as the Familiar replacements of some Witch archetypes -- these would not be covered, because they have their own rules of operation.


Gummy Bear wrote:

Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.

no as the situation doesn't start out like that. When you make the choice to be a wizard and gain a bonded object you start the game WITH a spellbook which has all Zero level spells and 3+[Int bonus] First level spells. So one does not obtain a bonded object without a book in the CRB. BTW, spells in book mean learned and scribed. For terminology known=learned. Later rulebook classes should refer back to Wizard or have exceptions as needed.

CRB wrote:
A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school below).

Later rulebooks would allow switching to a bonded object (retraining) but one assumes the guy would have a spellbook. Otherwise follow the existing rules.

"in his spellbook and is capable of casting" means the spell has been learned and scribed (at some point).

If the caster loses his spellbook then you are on the GM's largesse. There are complications that arise from borrowed or obtained spellbooks and usage of Secret Page. Making a copy of your spellbook is relatively easy and should be done before you lose it.

If someone were to retrain into a Bonded Object and have no spellcasting capability, it would seem to be an unwise choice and time to retrain out of it...


Gummy Bear wrote:
Do you have any suggestions on how to go about that?

I would start a new post and ask

"How do bonded items work with classes such as shamans, clerics, and druids who do not have spell books"?


I have started a separate thread for FAQ:
Here is the link to get there


Gummy Bear wrote:

Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.

If you don't have a spellbook as a prepared caster than the only powers it has would be what you have enchanted it with. The arcane bond power assumes regular access to a spellbook.

If you're only carrying a travelling spellbook with just a portion of your spell knowledge, than that's what you have access to.

A more generous GM might allow you to duplicate any spell that you have prepared, but any material components would be needed as usual.


Gummy Bear wrote:

Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.

They say that because the rules for Arcane Bond have never applied to spontaneous spellcasters.

It wouldn't be unreasonable to grant them a 1/day "any spell on their class list that they can cast" option, as that's effectively what prepared spellcasters get (except it's with any spell on their spell book), but it's difficult to say that's the intent when there is zero precedent on the matter.

I wouldn't be surprised if the devs eventually chimed in and said "Nope, this works for prepared spellcasters with a spellbook, not spontaneous casters, or spellcasters who don't have a spellbook." Because realistically, that's perhaps the best thing we're going to get besides no answer at all.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gummy Bear wrote:

Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.

They say that because the rules for Arcane Bond have never applied to spontaneous spellcasters.

.

Because sorcerers and the like are essentially living spellbooks, having their entire spell knowledge within. But they aren't part of the asked question anyway, which is entirely on book casters. Besides, the vast majority of spontaneous casters, including most sorcerers do not have the arcane bond class feature anyway.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gummy Bear wrote:

Have the powers that be come down on what happens when a prepared caster that doesn't have a spellbook attains a bonded item?

I've searched the forums a couple of times now and just see "expect table variation" as the only consensus. Hoping for something a little more concrete.

They say that because the rules for Arcane Bond have never applied to spontaneous spellcasters.

It wouldn't be unreasonable to grant them a 1/day "any spell on their class list that they can cast" option, as that's effectively what prepared spellcasters get (except it's with any spell on their spell book), but it's difficult to say that's the intent when there is zero precedent on the matter.

I wouldn't be surprised if the devs eventually chimed in and said "Nope, this works for prepared spellcasters with a spellbook, not spontaneous casters, or spellcasters who don't have a spellbook." Because realistically, that's perhaps the best thing we're going to get besides no answer at all.

arcane bloodline wrote:


Once per day, your bond item allows you to cast any one of our spells known (unlike a wizard's bonded item, which allows him to cast any one spell in his spellbook).

It is not a general rule, but it is something a GM could use for other spontaneous casters.

PS: I just noticed that the prd has "bonded" spelled as "bond" for the sorcerer entry.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It would be interesting and practical question if a Wizard had a bonded item and lost his only spellbook.

Harsh but BTB answer is that a bonded object cannot provide a spell, even one currently memorized.

GMs should allow borrowed books and scrolls for spells that are learned. This would meet the learned + scribed + have possession requirement. The fact that the wizard didn't personally scribe the spell seems a nit pick if he makes the spellcraft roll to understand the other wizard's writings.
He could memorize a spell with the above so that would seem to meet the requirements for a bonded object.

borrowed books, spellpages/page of spell knowledge, spell matrix, scribed tattoos, etc certainly could come in handy.

Personally I think it serves as a warning to make a back up copy of your book for home game play.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Bond and Prepared Casters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions