Ultimate Intrigue and Illusion Clarification


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The clarification of illusion spells that so many I've seen asking for for so long were released not too long ago on pg. 158 of Ultimate Intrigue. I was talking to a few friends a while back and they brought up that these rules are technically not legal, as they aren't explicitly stated to be allowed in the additional resources document.

Is there a way we can solidly add these rules to PFS? I am of the opinion that we needed the clarifications here for a long time. It details what is and what isn't an interaction in regards to illusions that allow saves upon interacting.

I think this should be added as more than just guidelines. Illusions already suffer enough table variation; it would be nice to eliminate some of it.

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Rather than make that page of UI legal via Additional Resources, it would be better to copy/paste the appropriate text straight into the Campaign Clarifications document. That way it is available to all.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

As I recall they don't change any rules - those are already the CRB rules - they just explain them better. So action by leadership is necessary to start using the UI explanations.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

I disagree. Since illusion rules from the CRB are ambiguous, and a GM has to come up with a ruling, there is nothing illegal about a GM 7sing Ultimate Intrigue to help inform then how to make that ruling.

Liberty's Edge

brock, no the other one... wrote:
Rather than make that page of UI legal via Additional Resources, it would be better to copy/paste the appropriate text straight into the Campaign Clarifications document. That way it is available to all.

I didn't realize this was an option. This would be a lot easier and more accurate than waiting for an errata to a document that isn't really effected.

Lau Bannenberg wrote:
As I recall they don't change any rules - those are already the CRB rules - they just explain them better. So action by leadership is necessary to start using the UI explanations.

Since the rules as outlined in UI were so informative I didn't even realize they were the same until I read this an compared them. I genuinely thought they were new rules that added to and clarified the rules in the CRB.

Andrew Christian wrote:
I disagree. Since illusion rules from the CRB are ambiguous, and a GM has to come up with a ruling, there is nothing illegal about a GM 7sing Ultimate Intrigue to help inform then how to make that ruling.

Thanks for the input. I won't hesitate to use these rules in games I run and hopefully, in the future, in games I play.

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Andrew Christian wrote:
I disagree. Since illusion rules from the CRB are ambiguous, and a GM has to come up with a ruling, there is nothing illegal about a GM 7sing Ultimate Intrigue to help inform then how to make that ruling.

True, but if we want them to be used we first need to make sure the player base knows they exist, and then make sure they have easy access to them.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Ultimate Intrigue and Illusion Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society