Can a Wizard prepare spells below their level?


Rules Questions


Say a Wizard wanted to prepare some level 1 spells, and didn't have enough spots - could the Wizard use a 2nd level slot to prepare a 1st level spell? If so, is this spell considered to be "cast at 2nd level (for DC)" or what?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can do that but it still uses the DC as orginal level (the heighten meta magic allows you to use a higher level slot for a lower spell and use the new higher DC.


Yes, a wizard can always use a higher level slot to prepare a lower level spell - but the variables on the spell only change if he does so with the Heighten Spell metamagic feat. So, under normal circumstances, a 1st level spell prepped and cast from a 2nd level slot is just a 1st level spell. But if he uses the Heighten Spell metamagic feat, it becomes a 2nd level spell for setting DCs and so on.

Check d20pfsrd on Prepping Wizard Spells for more info.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Wizard prepare spells below their level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions