Sundering Strike


Rules Questions


Here is this critical strike maneuver feat.

rules wrote:
Whenever you score a critical hit with a melee attack, you can sunder your opponent’s weapon, in addition to the normal damage dealt by the attack. If your confirmation roll exceeds your opponent’s CMD, you may deal damage to your opponent’s weapon as if from the sunder combat maneuver (roll normal damage to the weapon separately). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity.

I can't really understand how it goes. If I crit successfully - I can roll for sunder also. But if my confirmation roll exceeds CMD - then what?


Sergeek The Mad wrote:

Here is this critical strike maneuver feat.

rules wrote:
Whenever you score a critical hit with a melee attack, you can sunder your opponent’s weapon, in addition to the normal damage dealt by the attack. If your confirmation roll exceeds your opponent’s CMD, you may deal damage to your opponent’s weapon as if from the sunder combat maneuver (roll normal damage to the weapon separately). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
I can't really understand how it goes. If I crit successfully - I can roll for sunder also. But if my confirmation roll exceeds CMD - then what?

You don't make a new attack roll for the free sunder; you use the confirmation roll you already made for the crit to see if it (the sunder) succeeds. Does that make more sense?


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Sergeek The Mad wrote:

Here is this critical strike maneuver feat.

rules wrote:
Whenever you score a critical hit with a melee attack, you can sunder your opponent’s weapon, in addition to the normal damage dealt by the attack. If your confirmation roll exceeds your opponent’s CMD, you may deal damage to your opponent’s weapon as if from the sunder combat maneuver (roll normal damage to the weapon separately). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
I can't really understand how it goes. If I crit successfully - I can roll for sunder also. But if my confirmation roll exceeds CMD - then what?
You don't make a new attack roll for the free sunder; you use the confirmation roll you already made for the crit to see if it (the sunder) succeeds. Does that make more sense?

Yes, thank you!

It seems hard to pull of though, since bonuses to sunder checks won't apply.


Sergeek The Mad wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Sergeek The Mad wrote:

Here is this critical strike maneuver feat.

rules wrote:
Whenever you score a critical hit with a melee attack, you can sunder your opponent’s weapon, in addition to the normal damage dealt by the attack. If your confirmation roll exceeds your opponent’s CMD, you may deal damage to your opponent’s weapon as if from the sunder combat maneuver (roll normal damage to the weapon separately). This does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
I can't really understand how it goes. If I crit successfully - I can roll for sunder also. But if my confirmation roll exceeds CMD - then what?
You don't make a new attack roll for the free sunder; you use the confirmation roll you already made for the crit to see if it (the sunder) succeeds. Does that make more sense?

Yes, thank you!

It seems hard to pull of though, since bonuses to sunder checks won't apply.

Hmm, that is a good point that I hadn't noticed. I wonder if the writers realized they were excluding those bonuses? Makes a kinda-decent feat pretty eh.


The description of the feat is not clear if you get your sunder bonuses. One way to look at it is to take the same roll and apply the relevant bonuses and if both succeed than you have successfully sundered the item and both the target and the weapon take damage. Remember you have to successfully confirm the critical hit for the sunder to trigger.

Even if you don’t get the sunder bonuses you still get all the other bonuses of the normal attack so chances are you are going to roll above the CMD.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sundering Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.