
skizzerz |

Ivory Labyrinth says "After you encounter a bane, move to Blackburgh."
Groaning Gate says "If defeated, you may examine the top card of your location; if it is your turn, you may explore your location."
The Rulebook says (page 9) "If a card grants you an additional exploration, after you finish what you are doing, you must immediately use that exploration or forfeit it."
If I defeat a Groaning Gate at the Ivory Labyrinth, what happens? Do I move to Blackburgh and then get to explore, do I move to Blackburgh and forfeit the explore, or do I get to explore (and then maybe move depending on what I just encountered)?
Groaning Gate's power happens in the Resolve the Encounter step, whereas Ivory Labryinth's would happen after the encounter is over, so Groaning Gate happens first. No matter what, I get to examine the top card of Ivory Labyrinth before moving. What is less clear to me is what happens after that. My hunch is that I move to Blackburgh and then get to explore (which is how I played it -- I counted moving there per the At This Location effect as "finishing what I'm doing"), but could see it a number of other ways as well.

skizzerz |

I'm having trouble applying that FAQ to the given scenario, unless Ivory Labyrinth moves you before the encounter is over (the wording "After you encounter" implies to me that it happens after the encounter though, which means the Groaning Gate's power would kick in first). Could you offer insight into how this scenario is intended to be played out in light of the FAQ?

Frencois |

First, thanks Vic for "closing" today a bunch of old requests for clarifications.
But I would agree somehow with skizzerz that, although your FAQ is cool, was indeed needed, and makes a lot of sense, it may actually not clearly answer the case submitted. Let me be precise :
"If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after that encounter do not happen."
"After you encounter a bane, move to Blackburgh."
See the issue? One can argue that Ivory Labyrinth doesn't move you "during" the encounter.
Another proposition IMHO (that certainly needs to be challenged, because it just popped out of my non english-native mind) :
"If you are requested to move during or after an encounter, any other effect that would happen after that encounter does not happen."

![]() |

The FAQ resulted from an issue Obsidian raised, and during that discussion, I introduced this thread, so when I posted the FAQ, I looked at places I needed to post the answer to and incorrectly identified this as one. You're right: the FAQ doesn't actually address this question.
I'll get back to you.