Casting 1 round action while swimming


Rules Questions


Hello,In Skull in Shackles I have an Half-Elf Water-Child Alternate Racial Trait, playing as a shaman. I was pushed in the water by a certain effect of a sword, and now I want to cast a 1 round action spell: Summon Swarm, Summon Monster, or Sleep.

As a full round action, I can't do a "move" action of swimming.
Does that mean I go underwater because of that?
Do I go underwater before finishing my spellcasting?
If I can't breath underwater, will I need to do 2 concentration checks?

Thanks


Should be in the rules forum.

I think the answer is unless there's a storm happening, you should be able to cast a spell while treading water without a problem.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It would likely take you two rounds to cast your spell. Any spell with a 1 round cast time can be started with a standard action, then completed with a second standard action the following round, allowing you to use move actions to tread water at least.

Of course, if the sea is not calm then concentration checks are in order.

Sovereign Court

I agree with supervillain. Unless you have a swim speed, you need to use the "start/complete full-round action" standard action over two rounds because you need to make a swim check.

If you can't breathe underwater you can't speak and thus can't cast at all. Without water breathing you'd need a silent spell metamagic feat or rod to do so.

--Vrock Lobster


Actually, you can cast underwater even if you can't breathe it - it just requires a concentration check:

Quote:

Spellcasting Underwater: Casting spells while submerged can be difficult for those who cannot breathe underwater. A creature that cannot breathe water must make a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) to cast a spell underwater (this is in addition to the caster level check to successfully cast a fire spell underwater). Creatures that can breathe water are unaffected and can cast spells normally. Some spells might function differently underwater, subject to GM discretion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting 1 round action while swimming All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions