Does grappled condition limit the number of attacks?


Rules Questions


I had this question a while back and I am second guessing the answer that was given. The scenario is an eidolon with 4 natural attacks being grappled, how many attacks does the eidolon get on their turn provided they do not wish to break the grapple, and instead just wish to attack.

Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform.

The key focus is "A grappled creature can take no action that requires two hands to perform". If an eidolon has 4 arms, how is he restricted in this way?

Someone brought up in another forum that "Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you."
Their emphasis was on the wording "full attack", and that the eidolon could make a full attack because each individual attack is being made with a single arm, not two in conjuction.

I believe that that answer is not the correct one because the wording also states "make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon" emphasizing the "a" as singular and not "make a full attack with multiple light or one-handed weapons".

Someone help me out here, how is this situation suppose to be handled? How many attacks does the Eidolon, or even a dual wielder get in this scenario?


As many as they get when not grappled, unless they're using a two-handed weapon.

Your correspondent is right, you are not.

Grand Lodge

The eidolon or duel wielder would get their full attack, as none of the individual attacks need both hands. If they only had a two-handed weapon, however, they could not attack with it, even if they had 4 arms.

Grand Lodge

Also, there is an FAQ about exactly this. D20PFSRD has it on the grappling page. If I were not on my phone I would dig it up.


I see, thank you for the feedback. But they would be restricted with the "Pinned" condition correct?

Grand Lodge

Yes. Pinned limits the pinned target to a very specific list of actions. Grappled specifies what they cannot do, and only that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does grappled condition limit the number of attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions